Thread: A couple of problems with Wubi

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

A couple of problems with Wubi

Hello, just finished getting Wubi installed and had a little play around but now i have a couple of questions which i tried finding answers to but to no avail so i was hoping someone would help me.

1) Almost immediately after logging in i get a message saying there are new updates available, i read about the upgrade from 7.04-7.10 is dangerous via wubi and as a newbie i do not want to experiemnet with that. However when i checked the update manager i noticed many of the updates were actually for various bits of software e.g. open office, firefox etc... I just want to know can i use this update manager to update those programs safely of will i corrupt the wubi install if i do update?

2) I downloaded and installed opera as i cannot get used to firefox web browser (lack of mouse gestures), i just wanted to make sure that it is actually safe to install programs within ubuntu via wubi.

3) Finally for now i guess, is there any type of antivirus / firewall software i can use with wubi just for that extra peace of mind.

Hopefully, someone will be willing to help. Many thanks in advance

Beans

Re: A couple of problems with Wubi

Quote Originally Posted by 5nak3 View Post
    1) Almost immediately after logging in i get a message saying there are new updates available, i read about the upgrade from 7.04-7.10 is dangerous via wubi and as a newbie i do not want to experiemnet with that. However when i checked the update manager i noticed many of the updates were actually for various bits of software e.g. open office, firefox etc... I just want to know can i use this update manager to update those programs safely of will i corrupt the wubi install if i do update?
    Yes all updates are fines, just do not click on upgrading to 7.10.