Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    /Ubuntu
    Beans
    187
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    Using WINE, I am able to run Macromedia Flash 8. So why am I not able to install Flash CS3? I want to utilize the latest version of ActionScript, and I don't want to use Windows!

    The installer keeps coming up with the error, Needs Windows XP SP2 or Later. Please upgrade to meet this...BLAH BLAH BLAH!

    Could it be because I need a later version of WINE?

    Any help would be much appricated.
    Thanks in advance,
    James (Registered Ubuntu User #19236)

    iMac G3 350Mhz Summer 2000, running Debian Squeeze
    Compaq Presario
    M2000 running Ubuntu Jaunty


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Beans
    4,164
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    Adobe Flash CS3 does not work with Wine:
    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...rsion&iId=7120

    Linux User #355330 | Ubuntu User #15618 | Last.FM

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Colombia
    Beans
    240
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    You can run 8 and not CS3, why? Because CS3 obviously is jacking up the security measures, and WINE does not cope well with them. So far WINE (latest versions even) do NOT work with any of the CS3 products as far as I know. You can only wait and submit bug reports for now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    39
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    Somehow someone on another forum got Photoshop CS3 installed but it crashed on startup. I still don't understand how he got even CS2 running. We need a good up-to-date guide on how to run CS2. =/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    /Ubuntu
    Beans
    187
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    Hmm, some person's got dreamweaver CS3 running... I wonder if I can use flash...

    http://www.openaddict.com/node/25

    But I can run Macromedia Flash 8, but I cannot run CS3. It bugs me because I want to use Actionscript 3. Oh well!

    Here's how to run studio 8 at least
    First download the Flash 8 here (or Dreamweaver, Fireworks and Contribute).
    Download the Windows version, (this is the version which I can get to work in WINE)

    To do this, you will need a (free) Macromedia ID

    Now the rest is assuming you have already a code, but you can still try Studio 8 for 30 days.

    Now in a Terminal/Konsole put:

    wine /BLAH

    (where BLAH is the exe file. For Flash, this will probably be, Flash8-en.exe.)

    I found that you have to put in the full path of the exe file: this will be probably easiest to burn the .exe files to a disc and install it from there.

    In a terminal, if you have burned it to a disc, put in the disc in the drive and the path will be:

    wine /media/cdrom0/BLAH

    (where BLAH is again the exe file)

    It should then install under wine.
    Hopefully you should find your new file under Applications>Wine>Programs>Macromedia>Macromedia Flash.

    I found out that I had to repair the installation of Flash, but if you encounter problems, feel free to post
    James (Registered Ubuntu User #19236)

    iMac G3 350Mhz Summer 2000, running Debian Squeeze
    Compaq Presario
    M2000 running Ubuntu Jaunty


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    /Ubuntu
    Beans
    187
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    I now have an idea (YET TO BE TESTED!!!!!)
    If you type in winecfg in the Terminal, you get to your wine configuration settings. On the tab, Applications, click on add Application.
    Locate the CS3 installer (should be called Setup.exe in your Adobe CS3 folder.

    By doing it this way, you can tell the setup to run in the windows version XP (or Vista). So maybe this will work...
    James (Registered Ubuntu User #19236)

    iMac G3 350Mhz Summer 2000, running Debian Squeeze
    Compaq Presario
    M2000 running Ubuntu Jaunty


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Beans
    4,164
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    You can get the same effect by simply setting the default OS to whatever you want. On a vanilla Wine install, it is set to Windows 2000, but you can make the default XP. It shouldn't make a difference, since Win 2000 and XP are virtually the same, from a Wine perspective.

    Linux User #355330 | Ubuntu User #15618 | Last.FM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    /Ubuntu
    Beans
    187
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    The Error message it comes up with when I try to set up is basically I need Win XP to install Cs3.

    Now I can't even try and setup to see if it works because it won't play ball. When I double click on the CS3 setup, it won't load. For a check, other exes work.
    It won't even load into an error message!

    Maybye I should complain. But how can I ask Adobe to make flash for Linux?
    Last edited by Jammy4041; December 1st, 2007 at 12:01 AM.
    James (Registered Ubuntu User #19236)

    iMac G3 350Mhz Summer 2000, running Debian Squeeze
    Compaq Presario
    M2000 running Ubuntu Jaunty


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Beans
    4,164
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    When running applications or installs with Wine, don't do it by the double-click method, use the terminal instead. When Wine is run through the terminal, any errors Wine encounters are output in the terminal window and can be very helpful in troubleshooting the problem.

    As for complaining, I doubt they would listen, even if you do find the proper channels to go through.

    Linux User #355330 | Ubuntu User #15618 | Last.FM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    /Ubuntu
    Beans
    187
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Why can't I run Adobe Flash CS3?

    Quote Originally Posted by cogadh View Post
    When running applications or installs with Wine, don't do it by the double-click method, use the terminal instead. When Wine is run through the terminal, any errors Wine encounters are output in the terminal window and can be very helpful in troubleshooting the problem.

    As for complaining, I doubt they would listen, even if you do find the proper channels to go through.
    Yes, that is the correct way, but even using the terminal, I can't seem to get the installation. It's driving me (ALMOST) CRAZY!

    The exe file is located in home/james/Adobe CS3/Setup.exe

    So what do I put into the terminal?

    Thankyou for you kind help Cogadh.
    James (Registered Ubuntu User #19236)

    iMac G3 350Mhz Summer 2000, running Debian Squeeze
    Compaq Presario
    M2000 running Ubuntu Jaunty


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •