Page 15 of 26 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 258

Thread: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! Finally Video Conference!

  1. #141
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Forsyth, GA USA
    Beans
    10

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Her's an update of my efforts to get video working since my last post.
    Looking through the Skype website for solutions I noticed on the download page that the required files for beta 2.0 included QT4.2.1+ and D-bus 1.0.0. I checked in my Adept Manager and found that I had QT 3.something installed but not 4.etc. I installed 4.* and removed and re-installed Skype, but no luck. The next item was D-bus 1.0.0. Now there are several D-bus associated files listed in my Adept Manager, all seemingly to address some particular issue. Some state that they will not do the regular D-bus job (or so it seems to me). Can someone clarify which D-bus file is required for Skype? I have all the main, security multiverse and universe repositories accessed. Do I need to go to an outside source for the correct file?

    Thanks again for all the help....Rene

    Edit: Found out that I had d-bus as required.....anybody with any other ideas?
    Last edited by rduch; November 22nd, 2007 at 01:58 AM.

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Beans
    24

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Hi, I’ve tried Skype 2 with a Logitech Quickcam Chat for skype.

    Code:
    lsusb
    Bus 002	Device 002	ID 046d:092e	Logitech Inc.
    
    lsmod | grep videodev
    videodev		29312		2	gspca,bttv
    v4l2_common	18432		4	tuner,tvaudio,bttv,videodev
    v4l1-compat		15364		2	bttv, videodev
    I can send the video signal, the others can see me but I can not see myself and the others. Also when I click test on options my video is too dark and I can not change anything like sharpness…
    Any idea?

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    2,185
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Quote Originally Posted by Atreus12 View Post
    Are either the client or the protocol open source?
    NO and NO.
    Ubuntu 12.04

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Rduch, If you find a fix please let me know.
    I'm having the same difficulty with a Logitech Quickcam Pro 9000 (046d:0990) and Gutsy with Skype.
    Uvc is installed but doesn't work in Skype, just displays static. Also fails to work in Canorama with the error message, "could not connect to video device (/dev/video0) "

    lsmod | grep videodev
    videodev 29312 1 uvcvideo
    v4l1_compat 15364 2 uvcvideo,videodev
    v4l2_common 18432 2 uvcvideo,videodev

    The camera works in Cheese (although the image is poor, blurred) so I guess V4l2 is running ok.
    Rather puzzling as others report this camera works without issues. It's bound to be something simple that I have or haven't done but for now it's got me beat.

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    3

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    stk11xx working whit new 1.2.0 release.
    Asus a6km laptop.
    http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ease_id=556245

  6. #146
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    7

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Downloaded skype 2.0 today. Tested with my cheap Trust wb1200p webcam, which works with all the other apps; the webcam was recognized, but I only got a black test window.
    Tried many times, also tried disabling compiz, but had no luck.
    Then I installed the ow511 source driver, I tried once more and it worked (slow framerate and 100% cpu, but at least it worked).
    This is the webcam:
    http://www.trust.com/products/default.aspx?item=13405
    Product ID is 093a:2468, I guess it uses gspca driver (but how can I find out that? ).

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    144

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Hi,

    don't miss http://forum.skype.com/index.php?showtopic=102838

    With skype_video_hijacker, I got my Quickcam Messenger working.

    The preview doesn't work, so you should test it with a real video call.

    Best regards,
    Whoopie

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA USA
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Just downloaded the new Skype 2.x. I have been using Linphone with a M$ Lifecam NX-6000 on my Toshiba P105-S9337 running Kubuntu 7.10. It's been great. Can anyone tell me why this cam won't work in Skype, but does in Linphone? It's not a hardware, or palette issues (as has been discussed), because Linphone has perfect colors and a good frame rate. Any ideas?
    Thanks

  9. #149
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Beans
    17

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    Hello Folks:
    Got the Logitech Quickcam Express (device id 046d:0870) working with Skype. I don't know what driver (quickcam?) I am using though. Teach me how to find it and I will post it.

    I followed the instructions on http://forum.skype.com/index.php?showtopic=102838


    Download source code using
    Code:
    svn checkout http://gstfakevideo.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ gstfakevideo
    Make sure dependencies are satisfied with
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libgstreamer0.10-dev pkg-config
    Then
    Code:
    cd gstfakevideo
    make
    sudo make install
    If your webcam is at /dev/video0 then sudo mv /dev/video0 /dev/video1

    Fire up skype with
    Code:
    gstfakevideo v4lsrc device=/dev/video1 ! ffmpegcolorspace
    and enjoy Skype with video!!! And my preview works too! Plus I tested on a remote machine as well

    YMMV with other webcams but give this procedure a shot!

    Alas! It crashes randomly!

    Quote Originally Posted by Kosimo View Post
    I'm having the same issue with the same webcam.

    In the wiki, it says that is supported. Do we may need to install something else?
    Last edited by neocon2005; November 30th, 2007 at 02:57 PM.

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Beans
    182

    Re: Skype 2.0 BETA for linux is here! FINALLY VIDEO CONFERENCE!

    I'd like to offer this tip for those of you with problems involving stiping, interlacing, and the like: where you can see that the camera is working, but something in the resolution is screwed up (this may also appear as a green screen, or even a black screen if you mess up the editing of the file I mention below).

    From the SkyPE forums, there was the suggestion to edit the ~/.Skype/<username>/config.xml (after backing it up. This is the procedure I used.

    1. Prepare by making a backup of the config.xml file (e.g., config.xml.orig)

    2. Start SkyPE, go to video options, and tick the "start automatically" type button. I assume from the intro that your camera is already detected, so take note of the device name.

    3. Now quit (not just close) SkyPE, and edit the config.xml file, looking for an XML structure <Video> ... </Video>. Initially it would not be there, but if you followed step 2, there should be one, with a single line <AutoSend>1</AutoSend> inside it.

    4. Now, add a line
    Code:
    <Device>/dev/videoN</Device>
    in the structure, where N is the number of your device seen in SkyPE video options (usually 0).

    5. Now open SkyPE again and check that it still "works" as before. A wrong devicename will be fatal.

    5. Quit SkyPE again, and add another line,
    Code:
    <Fps>10</Fps>
    to the video section of the config file (see below for more). This is kind of a minimum requirement I expect, although you could use 5 instead of 10. Then you have other more serious graphics problems anyway Restart SkyPE and check that it still works! Then quite SkyPE again and we'll get to the real meat of the deal.

    6. Run "luvcview -L" which should output the capabilities of your graphics card. If you don't have luvcview already, either download it from the author's site (gspca driver site), or add a Hardy universe line to the apt repos and install it from there. Now, the output should read something like this, with the exact lines and IFR numbers supported dependent on your graphics card/X layer and so on (below is from a twin nVidia 7800GTX card on a 2-year-old AMD64 platform, I doubt that will be matched by many laptops out there, hehe):

    Code:
    luvcview version 0.2.1 
    Video driver: x11
    A window manager is available
    video /dev/video0 
    /dev/video0 does not support read i/o
    { pixelformat = 'MJPG', description = 'MJPEG' }
    { discrete: width = 160, height = 120 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 176, height = 144 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 320, height = 240 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 352, height = 288 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 640, height = 480 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 800, height = 600 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 960, height = 720 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { pixelformat = 'YUYV', description = 'YUV 4:2:2 (YUYV)' }
    { discrete: width = 160, height = 120 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 176, height = 144 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 320, height = 240 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 352, height = 288 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 640, height = 480 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/30, 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 800, height = 600 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/25, 1/20, 1/15, 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 960, height = 720 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/10, 1/5, 
    { discrete: width = 1600, height = 1200 }
            Time interval between frame: 1/5,
    SkyPE I think (is this true?) need the YUV supported mode, and if it assumes in its own twisted little way something different than what your card supports, you are *screwed* by the pooch. I have 4 machines that I tested SkyPE on, and on one it was fine (the above one), on another I got video but the lower part was frozen, and in another two I got interlacing. Well, no longer

    7. Now, be conservative (as you can see, 10 for the inverse of frame speed is fairly conservative), and take, for example, the YUV resolution of 176x144 as a starting point (if you have an older laptop, for example like one of my Toshiba models from 2000 that originally ran Windows ME, gulp, you might try less, but I pretty much think you won't need to), and add the following lines to your config.xml video section:
    Code:
    <CaptureWidth>176</CaptureWidth>
    <CaptureHeight>144</CaptureHeight>
    Start up SkePE again and see if that works. I hope it does, else go back a couple of steps to where it does work, and try a lower resolution and/or frame speed setting.

    8. Now, if that all works, you may experiment with different settings, maybe writing scripts to choose SkyPE to start up with different configurations depending on who/where you are calling to and from which location you are connected from, etc. Because, of course, the bandwidth requirements are quite different. Obviously, with the current state of SkyPE for linux doing unknown things with its selection criteria for video modes, someone on a Windows machine will have a different default bandwidth use compared to someone using the same camera on a linux system... so you have to do this setting manually for now.

    I hope this helps, cheers,
    Gernot
    Last edited by aikishugyo; November 29th, 2007 at 04:30 AM.
    Learning the mechanism requires good teachers and dedication

Page 15 of 26 FirstFirst ... 5131415161725 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •