Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A long time Ubuntu user's review of Archlinux

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

A long time Ubuntu user's review of Archlinux

UBUNTU - This wonderful beginner friendly distro helped me get started with Linux and I've been using it for about 18 months. Though I wanted to switch to Linux back in 2004, I couldn't stick to it (SUSE) until I discovered Ubuntu. Thanks to Ubuntu and the community. I heard good things about Arch in the forums and blogs and last week was perfect to get my hands dirty with it as I had a bit of leisure time.

The basic Arch's philosophy is to keep things simple. That does not mean things would be easy with Arch which became clear as I began the installation process

I downloaded and burned the iso (~150 MB), freed up 30 GB on my hard disk and fired the installer. Though command line based, I found the installer to be fairly intuitive. I chose to install from CD rather than FTP as I wanted to get up and running fast. The CD contains 'core' packages, sufficient enough to get a basic linux system running.

Unlike ubuntu's installer, there is no 'Use largest contiguous free space' option to automatically install onto available free space. Partitioning should be done manually in Arch. I created root and swap partitions and filesystems using the 'cfdisk' utility supplied with the installer. At the end of the installation I chose to install GRUB to my boot partition (and not MBR). Then booted into Vista and used EasyBCD to set-up dual boot using Vista's Boot loader. I rebooted and kept my fingers crossed. Arch booted fine - A sign of relief for me.