Page 43 of 98 FirstFirst ... 3341424344455393 ... LastLast
Results 421 to 430 of 978

Thread: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

  1. #421
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,958
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    cmichaelt

    You do not need the lo interface mentioned in the script.

    Here are some suggestion you may want to try, just be warned that I haven't actually tried any of these suggestions.

    1. Put a sleep 20 statement at the top of the script -- see if something changes at boot.

    2. What about changing or putting these changes in the /etc/network/interfaces script? In fact what are the contents of your /etc/network/interfaces file?

  2. #422
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    contents of /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    will test the second suggestion as i've already tried the first with sleep 40 and nothing came of it, will have to wait for a couple hours though. have class.

  3. #423
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    tried adding the changes to /etc/network/interfaces and commented out the changes in /etc/rc.local but nothing happened at all this time.

    when i use the /etc/rc.local script then login. i have to do these commands to get a wireless connection to the router:

    sudo ifconfig wlan0 down
    sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "bahay"
    sudo ifconfig wlan0 up

    then this to get connected to the world wide web.

    sudo route add default gw 192.168.1.1

  4. #424
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,958
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Can you post your new "interfaces" file? Thanks. Strange indeed!

  5. #425
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    contents of /etc/network/interfaces

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    ifconfig eth0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.108 netmask 255.255.255.0
    iwconfig wlan0 essid "bahay"
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    route add default gw 192.168.1.1

  6. #426
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,958
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Wouldn't it be more appropriate similar to this structure or syntax?

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
    address 192.168.168.40
    gateway 192.168.168.230
    dns-nameservers 192.168.168.230
    netmask 255.255.255.0

  7. #427
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Quote Originally Posted by kevdog View Post
    Wouldn't it be more appropriate similar to this structure or syntax?

    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet static
    address 192.168.168.40
    gateway 192.168.168.230
    dns-nameservers 192.168.168.230
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    you sir are a genius, thank you for your help!

  8. #428
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    65

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Just upgraded from Gutsy to Hardy. Using a Belkin F5D7050 v3002, the RT73 chipset. Under Gutsy, it didn't work out of the box, I was using the compiled Ralink driver and that worked, but wouldn't support WPA (though WPA worked under Windows). After I upgraded to Hardy (not a clean install), that RT73 driver is no longer listed under Restricted Drivers Manager like it was in Gutsy and "sudo modprobe -l |grep rt73" only returns the rt73usb.ko listing, so it looks like Hardy supports my adapter out of the box (awesome! is this correct?)

    I still can't get WPA to work; I was hoping this would change if the built-in drivers are working under Hardy. I tried the simple way, entering my passkey under System-Administration-Network, but that won't connect. So I tried the instructions in this thread under "WPA with Ra Based chipsets" but on each of the "sudo iwpriv" commands, I get:
    Code:
    wlan0        no private ioctls
    Any ideas or are RT73s still out of luck when it comes to WPA? Thanks.

  9. #429
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    5

    Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Thank you for this, it worked perfectly for me!

  10. #430
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California USA
    Beans
    116
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Angry Re: How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager

    Help! I'm using Hardy and I upgraded some packages this evening and a restart was required. On restart wireless and sounds are gone. Looking at another thread here's the output from terminal -

    jeff@jeff-laptop:~$ sudo iwconfig
    [sudo] password for jeff:
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    jeff@jeff-laptop:~$ sudo iwconfig eth1
    eth1 No such device

    jeff@jeff-laptop:~$ lshw -C network
    WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
    *-network:0
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX
    vendor: Broadcom Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 02
    serial: 00:11:43:4c:b6:15
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=b44 driverversion=2.0 ip=10.xx.xx.xx latency=32 module=ssb multicast=yes
    *-network:1 UNCLAIMED
    description: Network controller
    product: PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection
    vendor: Intel Corporation
    physical id: 3
    bus info: pci@0000:02:03.0
    version: 05
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: cap_list
    configuration: latency=32 maxlatency=24 mingnt=3

    I gotta get to bed. Any advice?
    Dell Inspiron 600m 1.8GHz|ATI 9000mobile|2Gb RAM|Intel 2915ABG|dual boot Win7/UNE 10.04
    Nokia N810
    Dell Studio XPS|i7-920|6Gb RAM|Nvidia-G220|Win7|XP & Maverick in VMware player

Page 43 of 98 FirstFirst ... 3341424344455393 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •