Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need an XML editor

Beans

Need an XML editor

I recently started learning XML, and I'm using GEdit as my XML editor. I like it a lot, but it lacks a few features that I need.

Can anyone suggest an open source XML editor with a clean, simple interface that can validate a schema as well as an XML document? Ideally I would like one that can generate an XML document from a schema and vice versa, but that's not essential. (I would probably stick with GEdit if it had validation.)

I tried mlview, but the validator doesn't provide very helpful error messages. (On the document I'm working on now, it just says the name of the element and "Error".) I appreciate any suggestions you can make.

Beans

Re: Need an XML editor

Beans

That may be what I'm looking for. I downloaded it and I'll try it out. Thanks.

Beans

I've been using XML Copy Editor for several days, and it's almost exactly what I need. It can't generate an XML document from a schema or a schema from a document, but the author is planning to add that feature. Thanks for pointing me to it; it's a great program.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Falthon View Post
    I've been using XML Copy Editor for several days, and it's almost exactly what I need. It can't generate an XML document from a schema or a schema from a document, but the author is planning to add that feature. Thanks for pointing me to it; it's a great program.
    Not a problem, glad to be of assistance.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

http://www.screem.org <--- Screem is also an XML editor but I have no idea if it has the features you need.
    Those that can,do.Those that can't,complain!

Your right to speak doesn't include our obligation to take you seriously

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Arwen View Post
    http://www.screem.org <--- Screem is also an XML editor but I have no idea if it has the features you need.