Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: C prog. nested loops?

Beans

C prog. nested loops?

I didnt really feel like I should post in this section because I'm just learning to program C on my own from C Primer Plus but i'm stuck on one of these exercises in chapter 6 question 2. ok here is the exercise

2. Use nested loops to produce the following pattern:

$
    $$
    $$$
    $$$$
    $$$$$
    ------------------------------------------------
    so I am suppose to create this using a for loop I'm pretty sure so if u can explain this to me with out giving me the answer I would really appreciate it and if you could explain it without giving me things that dont come until later chapters i'd appreciate it

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: C prog. nested loops?

Code:
    #include <stdio.h>

int main()
    {
      int i, j;
      for ( i = 0; i < 5; ++i )
      {
        for ( j = 0; j < i+1; ++j )
        {
          printf( "$" );
        }
        printf( "\n" );
      }
    }

I can't believe you are already "cheating" on what appears to be a first assignment!

Here's the explanation: The outer loop increments the variable i by 1 each time it loops, for 5 loops, and just at the end of the loop prints a carriage return. The interior loop is the one responsible for printing the $ character(s). It prints a number of $ character(s) equal the number of times the outer for-loop has been executed. I hope this makes sense.
    Last edited by dwhitney67; September 9th, 2007 at 12:19 AM.

Beans

I am not cheating I didn't want the answer I wanted someone to explain how to do it. He didnt explain well enough(at least to me) what I need to do to make a specific number of rows and have things and a specific part of the row. I'm not going to look at the answer you posted unless I really really have to. I would rather someone explain how to make a specifc number of columns and rows and place things in a specific spot. and yes that does make sense