Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 57

Thread: HOWTO: NT Domain Authentication

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    India, Chennai, Mylapore
    Beans
    268
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HOWTO: NT Domain Authentication

    Thank you vizvayu,
    Great Job,
    Could understand quite a bit,
    will clarify on completion.
    Regards,
    Abhi Kalyan
    http://www.kgsplus.com

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    India, Chennai, Mylapore
    Beans
    268
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: gksudo b0rk3d

    Thank you swab,
    Great help buddy. Works like a shine!
    One problem though, its not accepting "servername" only accepts ip address,
    Why might this be happening, Should i do something with the DNS?
    Thank you once again
    Regards,
    Abhi Kalyan
    http://www.kgsplus.com

  3. #33

    Re: HOWTO: NT Domain Authentication

    Thanks, worked great.

    When I try to connect to a NT network drive using Nautilus, I'm still prompted for a password though. Is there anyway to try and authenticate using my current credentials first?

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Beans
    642
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: gksudo b0rk3d

    Quote Originally Posted by Abhi Kalyan View Post
    Thank you swab,
    Great help buddy. Works like a shine!
    One problem though, its not accepting "servername" only accepts ip address,
    Why might this be happening, Should i do something with the DNS?
    Thank you once again
    Well, obviously I don´t know your setup.. but yes it´s almost certainly a DNS issue.

    Simple solution is to edit your hosts file (/etc/hosts) and add a line with the IP address of the server followed by the name of the server, for example:

    192.168.1.2 servername

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Beans
    642
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOWTO: NT Domain Authentication

    Quote Originally Posted by j00b View Post
    Thanks, worked great.

    When I try to connect to a NT network drive using Nautilus, I'm still prompted for a password though. Is there anyway to try and authenticate using my current credentials first?
    Yeah same here. Previously when I was authenticating Ubuntu against AD there was a way to get a kerberos ticket. Is there an equivalent for NT domains?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    India, Chennai, Mylapore
    Beans
    268
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: gksudo b0rk3d

    Swab Tried editing /etc/hosts file, But the IP is already taken and shows the following:
    127.0.0.1 localhost l1
    127.0.1.1 l1.zen.local l1

    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
    192.168.1.2 sycone-server-win2003
    19.168.1.3 internet connection host-x.zen.local

    What do i make off This?
    Please help.
    Thank you once again Swab.
    Regards,
    Abhi Kalyan
    http://www.kgsplus.com

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Beans
    642
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: gksudo b0rk3d

    Quote Originally Posted by Abhi Kalyan View Post
    Swab Tried editing /etc/hosts file, But the IP is already taken and shows the following:
    127.0.0.1 localhost l1
    127.0.1.1 l1.zen.local l1

    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
    fe00::0 ip6-localnet
    ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
    192.168.1.2 sycone-server-win2003
    19.168.1.3 internet connection host-x.zen.local

    What do i make off This?
    Please help.
    Thank you once again Swab.

    I'm assuming 192.168.1.2 is the address of the server? You can give as many names as you like to a node.. for example you could have

    192.168.1.2 sycone-server-win2003 whatevernameyoulike

    In this case you would be able to use smb://whatevernameyoulike/sharename or smb://sycone-server-win2003/sharename

    Try reading the manual page for hosts. Just type "man hosts" at the terminal. Almost every command has a man page, some are more useful than others. Oh and press "q" to exit the man page when you are finished!

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    2

    Re: HOWTO: NT Domain Authentication

    Quote Originally Posted by talbot View Post
    I'm having the same [sound] problem. how you solved that?
    Thanks
    You have to look around for "group.conf" and "audio" for example.

    One easy solution you find here:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=77469

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    123

    Re: HOWTO: NT Domain Authentication

    Hi

    I have a box running "SME Server" (a distro running samba which emulates an NT server), and I have successfully used this howto to set up an Ubuntu Edgy box so that it can authenticate against the SME server box for logging in.

    However, I can no longer browse the shares on the server using the "Network Servers" icon on the Places menu. That's not critical - I can connect to the shares on the server if I use the "Connect to server" icon and fill in all the details, and it creates an icon for the share on the desktop, but I still get asked for a password the first time I open it. I'd like to set it up so that my login credentials are used to access the shares and no additional passwords are required.

    This is quite important because I'm planning to deploy a similar system and my users are not going to be happy if they have to retype their passwords multiple times.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks

    Andy B

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    1

    Re: HOWTO: NT Domain Authentication

    I followed the guide and it sorta worked. but for some odd reason it doesn't seem to let me get into any of my administrative type apps (the one you have to type a password to get into like Login Window, Users and Groups, etc.). Whenever I change back the common-account, common-auth, common-session, common-password, and sudo then restart I don't have anymore problems. I will say that I did have the same username and password for my local account on my linux box as on the NT domain, but I tried changing my username and it still acts like this. I also don't know if I necessarily have to change all those files, I just changed all of them because they seemed to be the most likely caused and sure enough it works, but it could be one specifically I suppose. Also I can't actually login with domain user accounts.

    Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing this?
    Last edited by Emeric Evans; February 8th, 2007 at 09:54 PM.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •