Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: kvm problems.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Beans
    400
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    kvm problems.

    I'm using these two guides to get kvm to work:

    http://ubuntu-tutorials.com/2007/07/...tu-704-feisty/

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/KVM

    I get stuck here:
    Code:
    drone4four@kubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe kvm-amd
    FATAL: Error inserting kvm_amd (/lib/modules/2.6.20-16-generic/kernel/drivers/kvm/kvm-amd.ko): Operation not supported
    Here is dmsg:
    Code:
    [377628.752000] has_svm: svm not available
    [377628.752000] kvm: no hardware support
    [377682.732000] has_svm: svm not available
    [377682.732000] kvm: no hardware support
    [378313.656000] has_svm: svm not available
    [378313.656000] kvm: no hardware support
    [379398.116000] has_svm: svm not available
    [379398.116000] kvm: no hardware support
    lsmod shows:
    Code:
    kvm                    61148  0
    Check it:
    Code:
    drone4four@kubuntu:~$ ls /lib/modules/2.6.20-16-generic/kernel/drivers/kvm/
    kvm-amd.ko  kvm-intel.ko  kvm.ko
    What exactly is my dmsg saying and what can I do to proceed with the kvm guides?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Beans
    400
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: kvm error

    Should I try posting this thread in a different forum?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Beans
    400
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    where should I ask my question?

    I asked a question about vmware in the Ubuntu hardware forum:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=522801
    It hasn't received the attention it should. I haven't got a single response there. Where should I have really posted it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: where should I ask my question?

    Probably here......vmware is software, not hardware. I don't know anything about it though, so I'm afraid I can't help you
    Registered Linux User #448551

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Mississippi
    Beans
    907
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: where should I ask my question?

    Quote Originally Posted by Drone4four View Post
    I asked a question about vmware in the Ubuntu hardware forum:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=522801
    It hasn't received the attention it should. I haven't got a single response there. Where should I have really posted it?
    Maybe if you request here... or in your linked thread that bohdi or another moderator kindly move it into this subforum, it will get the attention you think it should get.

    Ask them to, to remove this thread if you like. Good luck with your vmware problem.
    ... in myself i am nothing exactly no thing i am only a mirror in which others see aspects of themselves and attribute the resulting concepts to me but i am also an other to my self

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Al Ain
    Beans
    8,743

    Re: where should I ask my question?

    Hmm, I have installed VMware Server several times on Redhat and Mandriva. I just follow the instructions on the VMware web site. It works every time.

    For VMware Player, ensure that Ubuntu is *fully* updated and happy, then use Synaptic to install it - nothing to it - clicketyclick done.

    Note that you cannot have both on the same machine. In fact, you can have only ONE kind of virtualization on one machine. If you wish to change to a different virtualization solution, then you have to re-install Linux.

    Hope that helps!

    Herman

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    France.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: kvm problems.

    @ Drone4four: I merged the initial thread in here, as you had answers about it, and renamed the thread. Please check the thread title and tell me if it's OK with you
    | My old and mostly abandoned blog |
    Linux user #413984 ; Ubuntu user #178
    J'aime les fraises.
    Nighty night me lovelies!

    | Reinstalling Ubuntu ? Please check this bug first ! |
    | Using a ppa ? Please install ppa-purge from universe, you may need it should you want to revert packages back |
    | No support requests / username changes by PM, thanks. |

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Italy
    Beans
    76

    Re: kvm problems.

    It looks like your hardware is not supported by kvm, probably bacause your AMD CPU doesn't support SVM.

    You could try QEMU + KQEMU for the hw virtualization.

    *** EDIT ***

    As you can see SVM is required:

    http://kvm.qumranet.com/kvmwiki/Status

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    6

    Re: kvm problems.

    I have a similar problem.

    >sudo modprobe kvm-amd
    FATAL: Error inserting kvm_amd (/lib/modules/2.6.22-14-rt/kernel/drivers/kvm/kvm-amd.ko): Operation not supported

    I have run
    egrep '^flags.*(vmx|svm)' /proc/cpuinfo
    as suggested by the kvm package. I recieved a whole bunch of flags as a response:
    flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8legacy 3dnowprefetch ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps

    As far as I can tell my CPU supports SVM virtualization.
    My CPU is the AMD Athlon X2 BE-2400 Brisbane 2.3GHz Socket AM2 45W Dual-Core Processor.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ontario
    Beans
    400
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: where should I ask my question?

    Quote Originally Posted by HermanAB View Post
    Hmm, I have installed VMware Server several times on Redhat and Mandriva. I just follow the instructions on the VMware web site. It works every time.

    For VMware Player, ensure that Ubuntu is *fully* updated and happy, then use Synaptic to install it - nothing to it - clicketyclick done.

    Note that you cannot have both on the same machine. In fact, you can have only ONE kind of virtualization on one machine. If you wish to change to a different virtualization solution, then you have to re-install Linux.

    Hope that helps!

    Herman
    I thought kvm was different from VMware. Am I right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •