Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I guess I'm the first in Evansville...

Beans

Cool I guess I'm the first in Evansville...

There's not a lot of Linux here, but I'm inclined to stay to take care of Mom. I started a Linux User Group once upon a time, but then moved off to Chicago a few times. Others are doing that, now.

I'm most interested in finding Linux work...any chances? I'm a sysadmin, not a programmer, though I know how to script...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Re: I guess I'm the first in Evansville...

I'm a sysadmin myself, buddy. You can find work for sure, but it sure helps if you're willing to do some Windows stuff as well.

Ask around, maybe at the U of E? You might also check with Windows-centric "IT Services" companies, too; I bet many of them have a business or corporate client that uses/prefers Linux, and would like to be able to provide service to them.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

PS don't forget to look online for gigs, too. I telecommute these days, and it's great. My office is a 14-hour drive away from my house.

Beans

Finding Linux work is still not exactly an easy thing, but make yourself a part of communities and mailing lists, and the information will come to you.

I got my last job via the Ubuntu Education community, for example.

I know the Hoosier Education Computer Coordinators' mailing list pretty regularly sees job postings, if you're looking for technical work in Indiana schools. <http://hecc.k12.in.us/list.aspx>

Beans

Hello WheelDweller - there are a few of us crazies from the Evansville area... I live in Newburgh
    Last edited by DanielDunn; August 15th, 2007 at 07:38 PM.

Beans

not really......I'm here in boonville/chandler area......

Beans

I'm also in Evansville. Programmer for AGF downtown, hoping to someday move into a Linux Admin position. Would love to be part of the LoCo!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Quote Originally Posted by DanielDunn View Post