Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gnome Panel Applets in Python

Beans

Gnome Panel Applets in Python

Hi, I'd like to get started in writing my own applet for the gnome-panel in python, but I really have no idea where to begin (or to finish, for that matter). I've searched for tutorials and references, but they seem obfuscated, deprecated, or unfinished. I believe the most recent I could find was from 2004, and its code is outdated (uses gnome.applet instead of gnomeapplet for instance).

I am completely new to coding for gnome, so I don't have a solid idea of what to do, basically I'm starting from square one. So, my question is if anyone would be willing to help me start (first by writing a basic applet, maybe a hello world) and/or help me with the api and/or point me to a tutorial or how-to that is up-to-date that I can use for this purpose.

For me, at this point, I think simplicity is paramount!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Gnome Panel Applets in Python

I will try to help when I get back from work.

You could look into a working program like "ubuntu system panel" or "gimmie" how they add themselves to the panel.

Beans
    Distro

OK.. I have looked into how this works and this example came out:

gnomeAppletExample.py
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/env python

import pygtk
    import sys
    pygtk.require('2.0')

import gnomeapplet
    import gtk

def factory(applet, iid):
    	button = gtk.Button()
    	button.set_relief(gtk.RELIEF_NONE)
    	button.set_label("ExampleButton")
    	button.connect("button_press_event", showMenu, applet)
    	applet.add(button)
    	applet.show_all()
    	return True

def showMenu(widget, event, applet):
    	if event.type == gtk.gdk.BUTTON_PRESS and event.button == 3:
    		widget.emit_stop_by_name("button_press_event")
    		create_menu(applet)

def create_menu(applet):
    	propxml="""
    			<popup name="button3">