Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tartarus
    Beans
    Hidden!

    HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    According to this thread on the Skype forums:

    "yum/apt repositories - please test" posted by 'terminus', a member of the 'Skype staff'

    They now have an official Skype apt source for Skype for Linux. From the above linked post, here's the details on the apt repository:

    Using Skype's apt repository

    Simply add the following line to your sources.list file (usually /etc/apt/sources.list):

    Code:
    deb http://download.skype.com/linux/repos/debian/ stable non-free
    Now you can use apt-get update to sync to latest repository and then apt-get install skype to install Skype on your machines.
    Edit: I just added it to my sources.list and it works fine.

  2. #2
    manicka Guest

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    Thanks for this lotusleaf. Works well

    P.S. Nice to see you around this forum. I wondered where you'd disappeared to

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stuttgart
    Beans
    54

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    Worked perfectly for me. Big thanks! I always forgot to update my skype...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Beans
    30

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    Works for me too, updating as we speak Thanks!

    p.s. Nice website

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    76

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    I'll second that --- nice tip for us who always forget to manually check for updates! Also, as for now, I'm only using Skype for telephony, via SkypeOut and SkypeIn. So far so good ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Beans
    18
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    Hi...

    Just thought i should mention that this does not work on 64bit installs of ubuntu.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Beans
    5

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    Using the official Skype repository is now the method included in the Ubuntu Wiki guide at https://wiki.ubuntu.com/SkypeHowto

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Fredericia, DK
    Beans
    204
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    Quote Originally Posted by lotusleaf
    According to this thread on the Skype forums:

    "yum/apt repositories - please test" posted by 'terminus', a member of the 'Skype staff'

    They now have an official Skype apt source for Skype for Linux. From the above linked post, here's the details on the apt repository:



    Edit: I just added it to my sources.list and it works fine.
    This really works.
    Great.
    Registered Linux Couter #217909
    This site has been moved. - We'd tell you where, but then we'd have to delete you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    44
    Distro
    Kubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    I have a problem with this. It tells me:
    Code:
    The following packages have unmet dependencies:
    skype: Depends: libqt3c102-mt (>= 3:3.3.3.2) but 3:3.3.3-7ubuntu3 is to be installed
    E: Broken packages
    Can somebody help me?

    Edit: I'm REALLY sorry, I forgot I mustn't post questions here... Sorry...
    Last edited by agm642; October 2nd, 2005 at 07:56 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    1,389

    Re: HowTo: Add Official Skype Apt Repository

    Quote Originally Posted by agm642
    I have a problem with this. It tells me:
    Code:
    The following packages have unmet dependencies:
    skype: Depends: libqt3c102-mt (>= 3:3.3.3.2) but 3:3.3.3-7ubuntu3 is to be installed
    E: Broken packages
    Can somebody help me?
    Edit: I'm REALLY sorry, I forgot I mustn't post questions here... Sorry...
    it's a skype bug. For some reasons their Debian version on which they built the package has 3:3.3.3.2, not 3:3.3.3-x as Ubuntu and some other distros (including Debian) have. Search a forum and you will find the solution. You need actually install a previous version which is compiled fine or use another method.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •