Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: System Shock 2 and Wine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    471

    System Shock 2 and Wine

    Hi,

    This is my second attempt at getting a game to run in wine and I'm not getting very far. Although this is the furthest I've managed. Tantalisingly I can play the intro select level but no further.

    I'm using the home of the underdog version and I've run the ogg setup program successfully. I've had a go at the game with 2 outcomes. The first loads the main screen and when I start a new game it gives me a blank screen. This appears before the loading screen pops up. (I've saved the output of this in Output1.txt)

    The second, I removed the cutscenes' folder and I got into the game and through the first level, but it went to a blank black screen as soon as I entered the level exit. This produced quite a lot of complaints from wine. (I've saved the output as Output2.txt)

    I've read that some people have done this using Cedega but I'm not keen to start messing around with that.

    Thanks,

    Mikey
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    471

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    Has anyone managed this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    471

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    I guess this is a no go then?

    I've found 2 Wine pages one sais it doesn't work the other says it does. But since no-one's got it working.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    471

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    The cut scenes cause the program to crash on my system and I havn't been able to get them working, but I found out that it was crashing for a different reason after I'd removed the folder 'cutscenes'.

    It was because wine wasn't working with my anchient graphics card (nvidia TNT2). It was trying to change to a 16 bit graphics mode and failing. I can get it to work (kinda) by editing my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and changing my DefaultDepth to 16.

    To give:

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Default Screen"
        Device         "NVIDIA Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro]"
        Monitor        "Generic Monitor"
        DefaultDepth    16
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       1
            Modes      "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480
    "
    Then pressing [CTRL]+[ALT]+[BCKSP] to restart X. However after all this it still runs like ****. So not worth the effort realy.

    P.S. remember to PUT THE DEFAULTDEPTH BACK.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland.
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    hi, i am also trying to get system shock 2 working. I was able to get it to install, the codec installer crashed(which was mentioned in the wine post for ubuntu), but when i attempt to run the game my computers cpu usage spikes for about 2 seconds, and nothing happens. i ran the exe in a terminal, and it came out with this...
    'root@valdez:/home/tim# '/home/tim/.wine/drive_c/Sshock2/shock2.exe'
    err:seh:setup_exception nested exception on signal stack in thread 0009 eip 7bc622a9 esp 7ffddbf0 stack 0x241000-0x350000


    if anyone can help me i would appreciate it...

    *notes
    1)i am running this with an nvidia card, with nvidia drivers.
    2) i am using a cracked .exe(no-cd), it was mentioned in the wine post that you need to use one.
    Last edited by Gorgofdoom; January 2nd, 2008 at 11:00 PM. Reason: misspelling

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland.
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    also, for the post above, i renamed the cutscenes folder, and i attempted changing the color-depth to 16-bit, but it did not help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Baltimore, Maryland.
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeym View Post
    Hi,

    This is my second attempt at getting a game to run in wine and I'm not getting very far. Although this is the furthest I've managed. Tantalisingly I can play the intro select level but no further.

    I'm using the home of the underdog version and I've run the ogg setup program successfully. I've had a go at the game with 2 outcomes. The first loads the main screen and when I start a new game it gives me a blank screen. This appears before the loading screen pops up. (I've saved the output of this in Output1.txt)

    The second, I removed the cutscenes' folder and I got into the game and through the first level, but it went to a blank black screen as soon as I entered the level exit. This produced quite a lot of complaints from wine. (I've saved the output as Output2.txt)

    I've read that some people have done this using Cedega but I'm not keen to start messing around with that.

    Thanks,

    Mikey
    im no genius, but it looks like the first error could be fixed by changing your default color depth to 16... but you already know that? i don't know what the problem with mine is.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    54
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    for ur info sirs there is a way to disable the hardware video and to set it to software which helps with the problem here

    :

    you need to set at the sshock2.cfg in the game folder

    Code:
    hardware 0
    this sets the software video rendering
    but also it set the game to windowed mode which can be solved by adding

    Code:
    full_screen 1
    hope that helps some of you
    but it didnt helped me couse my game crashed at starting the cutscene which i cant solve

    the maximum resolution that can be set at the .cfg file which doesnt crash is 800x480

    if your able to play ^^ tell me what its like

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    471

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    Well for me it's a bit late as I've upgraded my machine. I was running a slightly older version of wine to get it to run 0.9.43 but the new version works ok.

    Also on my machine I need to run it on one core with:

    taskset -c 1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Beans
    54
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: System Shock 2 and Wine

    O_o i cant make it work!!

    ok anyone who tells me the "secret" is out of my chain-mail for life and does not get a windows xp cd for x-mas!

    deal?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •