Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Custom ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Paisley
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    The Feisty Fawn Testing

    Custom ubuntu

    Hello all,

    I have had experiences in the past of stripping down knoppix disks and rebuilding them into live cd's. I am wondering, is it possible to do the same with ubuntu? Are there any tools or tutorials that i can be pointed to?

    Ideally i would like to make a *really* stripped down ubuntu server for my own purposes. I may even call it wubuntu (w for wee)

    Many thx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    172
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Custom ubuntu

    Take a look at Reconstructor. It looks like a great way to mod your own Ubuntu build.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Paisley
    Beans
    36
    Distro
    The Feisty Fawn Testing

    Re: Custom ubuntu

    Superb!! Just what i am looking for.

    Thx for that syke

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    US and A
    Beans
    919
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Custom ubuntu

    Ah, was also looking for something like this. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    107

    Re: Custom ubuntu

    ahh. this looks handy. If this also allows you to install to hard drive, this could definitely cut down on customization that was necessary with the generic live cd.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Bombay, India
    Beans
    30
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: Custom ubuntu

    have any of you been able to add or remove custom apps using reconstructor? if yes, how do you do it.. i have been trying to fiddle with the problem since the last week.. still no joy!
    Last edited by asfaq; May 12th, 2007 at 03:03 PM.
    There is no place like 127.0.0.1

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    $HOME (Washington State)
    Beans
    4,590

    Re: Custom ubuntu

    I have tried Reconstructor, but I find it too buggy. When I want to add or remove programs, I have to use the terminal. Also, I have to manually edit the sources.list to match mine. On top of all that, I cannot even update my CD once I have made it, as it says it cannot find what "version" it is.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •