Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What exactly makes a lightweight application... lightweight

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

What exactly makes a lightweight application... lightweight

I'm not a programmer. I don't understand how programs work. So if someone can explain this in plain English (layman's terms), that'd be great.

I have a slightly older laptop, and I use IceWM on it. I've found some of the lighter-weight applications (like Leafpad and XTerm) load up immediately (literally one second after I press the keyboard shortcuts for them) but normal-weight (not even that heavy) applications (like Gedit and Gnome-Terminal) take as long as 12 seconds to load up.

What exactly makes lightweight applications lighter and able to load up more quickly? Just curious.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

Re: What exactly makes a lightweight application... lightweight

AFAIK:

• If you don't have a lot of memory, the program doesn't have as much room to store its data. Logically, the longer a program has wait for memory to be freed, the slower it will run.
    • If you have a slow processor, the "instructions" of the program will take longer to process and carry out.

So a program dealing with large amounts of data or a lot of instructions to carry out will run slower on a computer with smaller amounts of memory or processing capabilities.
    Last edited by vf514; April 7th, 2007 at 09:34 AM. Reason: forgot a word

Beans

Any combination of the below often can, but not necessarily does in every case:

- Having less features (as your text editor examples illustrate)
    - Being written in a language that suits the task
    - Being written in a language that has a fast execution speed
    - Being compiled optimally
    - Code being optimized
    Previously known as 23meg

Beans

With lightweight the programmers probably mean: