Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu for motionally disabled people?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

Ubuntu for motionally disabled people?

Hi! I work as an personal caretaker for a disabled guy. Since he suffers from motion disability (he can only move the left arm properly), his laptop means everything for him. The problem is that the laptop is getting very old and serveral errors has occured with XP recently and he finds it harder & harder to use it and he really ain't got the money for a new one

Is there any good OSS solution for motionally disabled people? Then maybe i could upgrade his laptop to Ubuntu, add replacements for his XP apps & improve his computer usage in general, without adding more expenses to his

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

Re: Ubuntu for motionally disabled people?

this is not the solution that you were looking for im sure... but...

you say 'serveral errors has occured with XP RECENTLY'... the recently part concerns me a little, that coupled with 'very old'... despite him not having the funding for a new machine, it sounds like the problem may not be with the OS but the notebook could actully be starting to fail. most commonly hard-disks, hard disk failures in notebooks are unfortunately not uncommon.

can you find out specifically what errors are occuring?
    is it possible that a good-ol re&re on the windows might help?

i am all for moving to OSS don't get me wrong, but this doesnt sounds like a situation that your client can afford any down time with.

what specifially are the requirements of your client? what do phyicialy disabled, or more accurately, your client people need from an os?

Beans