Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting C++ Should I use a terminal compiler or an IDE?

Beans

Starting C++ Should I use a terminal compiler or an IDE?

I am starting to learn C++ (I have no prior knowledge to programming other than just knowing what it is and while shell isn't programming I heard it helps a bit so in saying that I have simple proficiency with BASH and DOS shells where I can create directories, move around, copy files , etc.)

I have Anjuta installed but it is the most annoying program I have ever used. I created a simple source code so that Hello World! would show up in the terminal and when I open it with Anjuta there is no build menu where I can compile, link, etc.

Yesterday for some reason the build menu was there and I compiled it but then the only output from Anjuta was a .o file on the Desktop. There was no other output and Anjuta wouldn't open the .o file.

I went into the terminal and cd'ed into Desktop and and then did g++ Hello.cpp
    The output of that command was a.out and if I do ./a.out in the terminal it works. So it seems that g++ compiles and links it.

I don't know anything about programming but as I understand it all I need to program is a text-editor like gedit, a program to compile the source code, an interpreter, a linker, and the development libraries (I think)

I hear that C++ is mostly cross-platform and I want to be able to make any type of program with it (desktop app/applet, GUI programs, terminal programs) so I won't end up trying to compile source code later and get an error. Is all I need to ensure that I can do whatever I need to is to have all the C++ libraries installed?

Should I just use the g++ or should I get a IDE (will an IDE have more options and help?)? Please help, I don't know anything about what I need in terms on libraries and other programming stuff.

Beans

Re: Starting C++ Should I use a terminal compiler or an IDE?