Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 143

Thread: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Beans
    119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    ok.. making progress. I reinstalled libmtp, then reinstalled amarok (twice). Now amarok shows the option for mtp. however, it still doesn't detect the device.

    when i plug in the device, amarok spits this to stdout

    Code:
    amarok: BEGIN: Medium* DeviceManager::getDevice(QString)
    amarok:     DeviceManager: getDevice called with name argument = camera
    amarok: BEGIN: QStringList DeviceManager::getDeviceStringList()
    amarok: END__: QStringList DeviceManager::getDeviceStringList() - Took 0.00069s
    amarok: END__: Medium* DeviceManager::getDevice(QString) - Took 0.00086s
    amarok:   [DeviceManager::mediumAdded] Obtained medium name is camera, id is: /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_41e_4130_0105255182038FD6_if0
    amarok: BEGIN: void MediaDeviceManager::slotMediumAdded(const Medium*, QString)
    amarok: END__: void MediaDeviceManager::slotMediumAdded(const Medium*, QString) - Took 4.5e-05s
    amarok: BEGIN: void MountPointManager::mediumAdded(const Medium*)
    amarok: END__: void MountPointManager::mediumAdded(const Medium*) - Took 4.1e-05s
    amarok: END__: void DeviceManager::mediumAdded(QString) - Took 0.0012s
    also, mtp-detect finds the device with no problem.

    edit:

    ok, so I manually added the device and it works! cool!

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    ~wfarr
    Beans
    409

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Awesome!

  3. #23

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Hello!
    Everything work up to "make" in the amarok building process.
    Here is the error:
    Code:
    make  all-recursive
    make[1]: entrant dans le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4 »
    Making all in amarok
    make[2]: entrant dans le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4/amarok »
    make[2]: *** Pas de règle pour fabriquer la cible « all ». Arrêt.
    make[2]: quittant le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4/amarok »
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Erreur 1
    make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4 »
    make: *** [all] Erreur 2
    Do you have any idea where it comes from.
    It throu me the same whenever I try make clean.
    With or without any "sudo" in front of it !

    Thanks

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    ~wfarr
    Beans
    409

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Are you using Edgy or Feisty? If you are using Feisty, you do not need to build Amarok - just libmtp. The Amarok in the Feisty repos is built with mtp enabled already.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Beans
    119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Quote Originally Posted by splitsch View Post
    Hello!
    Everything work up to "make" in the amarok building process.
    Here is the error:
    Code:
    make  all-recursive
    make[1]: entrant dans le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4 »
    Making all in amarok
    make[2]: entrant dans le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4/amarok »
    make[2]: *** Pas de règle pour fabriquer la cible « all ». Arrêt.
    make[2]: quittant le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4/amarok »
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Erreur 1
    make[1]: quittant le répertoire « /home/yannick/amarok-with-mtp_dir/amarok-1.4.4 »
    make: *** [all] Erreur 2
    Do you have any idea where it comes from.
    It throu me the same whenever I try make clean.
    With or without any "sudo" in front of it !

    Thanks
    I don't really know what the error message says, but it looks like similar to a problem I had. I solved it by running the make commands AND the configure command with sudo. The reason for this is that directories were created as owned by root, and configure was unable to copy into them. Some kind of chmod would have fixed it also, but sudo was easier.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    5

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Quote Originally Posted by jrjazzman View Post
    ok.. making progress. I reinstalled libmtp, then reinstalled amarok (twice). Now amarok shows the option for mtp. however, it still doesn't detect the device.

    when i plug in the device, amarok spits this to stdout

    Code:
    amarok: BEGIN: Medium* DeviceManager::getDevice(QString)
    amarok:     DeviceManager: getDevice called with name argument = camera
    amarok: BEGIN: QStringList DeviceManager::getDeviceStringList()
    amarok: END__: QStringList DeviceManager::getDeviceStringList() - Took 0.00069s
    amarok: END__: Medium* DeviceManager::getDevice(QString) - Took 0.00086s
    amarok:   [DeviceManager::mediumAdded] Obtained medium name is camera, id is: /org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/usb_device_41e_4130_0105255182038FD6_if0
    amarok: BEGIN: void MediaDeviceManager::slotMediumAdded(const Medium*, QString)
    amarok: END__: void MediaDeviceManager::slotMediumAdded(const Medium*, QString) - Took 4.5e-05s
    amarok: BEGIN: void MountPointManager::mediumAdded(const Medium*)
    amarok: END__: void MountPointManager::mediumAdded(const Medium*) - Took 4.1e-05s
    amarok: END__: void DeviceManager::mediumAdded(QString) - Took 0.0012s
    also, mtp-detect finds the device with no problem.

    edit:

    ok, so I manually added the device and it works! cool!
    i have the same problem, mtp-detect finds it but amarok doesnt. could you explain how you added it manually? do you need to mount it or something?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Beans
    119
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Quote Originally Posted by saixx View Post
    i have the same problem, mtp-detect finds it but amarok doesnt. could you explain how you added it manually? do you need to mount it or something?
    I didn't mount anything. I went to settings > configure amarok > media devices. Clicked Add Device, plugin = MTP, Name = zen. That's all.

    I think the name could have been anything. It probably assumes you'll only have one mtp device hooked up at a time.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    5

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Quote Originally Posted by jrjazzman View Post
    I didn't mount anything. I went to settings > configure amarok > media devices. Clicked Add Device, plugin = MTP, Name = zen. That's all.

    I think the name could have been anything. It probably assumes you'll only have one mtp device hooked up at a time.
    heh, my amarok doesnt show a "plugin = MTP". any ideas?

    edit: never mind, i got gnomad2 working
    Last edited by saixx; December 18th, 2006 at 07:53 PM.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    10

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    On Edgy, tried to use your script and got the following error just after answering NO to whether I'm using Feisty:

    ./amarok-with-mtp: line 29: syntax error near unexpected token `do'
    ./amarok-with-mtp: line 29: `do wget "http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/a/amarok/amarok_1.4.4-0.3ubuntu2_i386.deb" && wget "http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/a/amarok/amarok-xine_1.4.4-0.3ubuntu2_i386.deb"'

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    ~wfarr
    Beans
    409

    Re: [How-To] Install Amarok with MTP-Device Support

    Quote Originally Posted by czheng View Post
    On Edgy, tried to use your script and got the following error just after answering NO to whether I'm using Feisty:

    ./amarok-with-mtp: line 29: syntax error near unexpected token `do'
    ./amarok-with-mtp: line 29: `do wget "http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/a/amarok/amarok_1.4.4-0.3ubuntu2_i386.deb" && wget "http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/a/amarok/amarok-xine_1.4.4-0.3ubuntu2_i386.deb"'
    Looks like a bug. Start the manual instructions in first post at step 3.

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •