Page 36 of 41 FirstFirst ... 263435363738 ... LastLast
Results 351 to 360 of 401

Thread: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

  1. #351
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Is there a way to enable some kind of auto-zoom like in Camtasia ( perfect feature for YouTube-size videos ) ?

  2. #352
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by Adler View Post
    Arup,

    I'm now running Ubuntu 9.04. I just switched back after running openSuSE11.1

    In the past I'd done a lot of compiz-Fusion 3D YouTube videos with Linux Mint running recordMyDesktop.

    What apps have you downloaded?

    Best Regards,

    JJMacey

    Hi JJMacey,

    I have downloaded quite a few apps, are you looking for something specific?

    regards
    Arup

  3. #353
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    8

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)


  4. #354
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    418
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Good luck if you are using ATI proprietary drivers!

    Code:
    cat ~/gtk-recordMyDesktop-crash.log
    #This is the command given at initialization:
    recordmydesktop -o /home/matt/Desktop/save -fps 15 -channels 2 -freq 22050 -device pulse -v_quality 63 -s_quality 10 -workdir /tmp --overwrite 
    
    
    #recordMyDesktop stderror output:
    Initial recording window is set to:
    X:0   Y:0    Width:1280    Height:1024
    Adjusted recording window is set to:
    X:0   Y:0    Width:1280    Height:1024
    Your window manager appears to be compiz
    
    
    Detected 3d compositing window manager.
    Reverting to full screen capture at every frame.
    To disable this check run with --no-wm-check
    (though that is not advised, since it will probably produce faulty results).
    
    Initializing...
    Buffer size adjusted to 4096 from 4096 frames.
    Opened PCM device pulse
    Recording on device pulse is set to:
    2 channels at 22050Hz
    X Error: BadAccess (attempt to access private resource denied)
    Bad Access on XGrabKey.
    Shortcut already assigned.
    X Error: BadAccess (attempt to access private resource denied)
    Bad Access on XGrabKey.
    Shortcut already assigned.
    X Error: BadAccess (attempt to access private resource denied)
    Bad Access on XGrabKey.
    Shortcut already assigned.
    X Error: BadAccess (attempt to access private resource denied)
    Bad Access on XGrabKey.
    Shortcut already assigned.
    Capturing!
    It's even worse with Copiz-Fusion disabled...running the cat log actually starts the recordmydesktop backend! WTF? Thanks ATI!
    Last edited by ctsdownloads; November 5th, 2009 at 09:23 PM.

  5. #355
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    141

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    How come, of all the videos I saw, mine seems to have a relatively better resolution?

    Anyway, if your videos have a bad resolution when uploaded to YouTube, try this procedure:

    Type in the terminal:
    Code:
    recordmydesktop  nameofoutput
    If you want to have a delay of 5 seconds before it starts recording, type:
    Code:
    recordmydesktop -delay 5  -o nameofoutput
    To stop the recording, press ctr + c in the terminal.
    Wait for the processing to complete.
    Can't find the video? Look in your home directory
    EX: if you change the directory to /home/user/Videos before you record, your video gets saved in the "Videos" directory, got it?

    .ogv looks quite bad on YouTube so, convert it to .avi
    Open the Terminal again in the directory where you saved the video in and enter the command:
    Code:
    mencoder -idx input.ogv -ovc lavc -oac mp3lame -o output.avi
    change input.ogv to the name of the file to convert and output.avi to the name of the converted file. NOTE: You have to install mencoder first if it isn't already (it is very good at preserving the video quality)

    The resolution will be the same after the conversion
    See my video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ySTp0_NLKo
    And compare the resolution with something like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CaJi580BAb8

    No offense pedalcat, just needed a video to demonstrate with...

    Oh, by the way, tell me if it is any better. Send me a private message

  6. #356
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Baroda, India
    Beans
    112
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    I have a strange problem, that video and audio is not synced with each other even if i keep my framerate and freuency high. Do anyone here knows why it is not syncing?? Pls reply as I have followed the thread and have read everything but have this one single problem.
    Thanks in advance.
    Tusker's Ubuntu Machine
    Nonsense - the Sense within

  7. #357
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    129

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    As suniyo said the video and audio are out of sync. I have tried all kinds of settings and have run it from the terminal as well with the same annoying results.

    Istanbul on the other hand does not have issues with audio and video sync ... but it lacks some key features.

    Xvidcap does not record audio for me.

    I have also done screencasting with ffmpegg but that leaves me with massive files and again ffmpeg lacks many key features of creating a screencast.

    Screencasting in Linux seems pretty hopeless ...

    We desperately need a way to get this working in Linux.
    Nothing beats the durability and quality of the Thinkpad put together with the brilliance and stability of Ubuntu Linux!

    Thinkpad T30, T40, T41p, T42, T43, T60, T61, R50, R61, Z61M, X31 ... all love Ubuntu!

  8. #358
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Worcester, UK
    Beans
    41
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    I found that I had audio sync problems (in both compiz and metacity) when I used -delay in recordmydesktop. I removed the -delay option, and audio synced fine when tested in both composite managers. I now use the sleep command instead:

    Code:
    sleep 5; recordmydesktop options...

  9. #359
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Beans
    4,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by wayfarer_boy View Post
    I found that I had audio sync problems (in both compiz and metacity) when I used -delay in recordmydesktop. I removed the -delay option, and audio synced fine when tested in both composite managers. I now use the sleep command instead:

    Code:
    sleep 5; recordmydesktop options...
    i suggest you file that bug with the recordmydesktop project. seems like it's a simple oversight-type bug that should be easily fixable.

  10. #360
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    129

    Re: Record your desktop with recordmydesktop ;)

    Ok, I have fixed it up and its working perfectly now!

    HERE is what I did!
    Nothing beats the durability and quality of the Thinkpad put together with the brilliance and stability of Ubuntu Linux!

    Thinkpad T30, T40, T41p, T42, T43, T60, T61, R50, R61, Z61M, X31 ... all love Ubuntu!

Page 36 of 41 FirstFirst ... 263435363738 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •