Page 151 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 511011411491501511521531612012516511151 ... LastLast
Results 1,501 to 1,510 of 23480

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #1501
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    196

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Help! Under the folllowing example by Bruce M. that I am following I get an error(see below pasted quote):

    STEP 6: Getting more information

    Go to this URL: (change the city name or use your ZIP Code online, once you click on the link below, it's the easiest way)
    RROR http://xoap.weather.com/search/searc...e=Buenos Aires

    Will give you information like this:

    Code:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <!--This document is intended only for use by authorized licensees of The Weather Channel. Unauthorized use is prohibited. Copyright 1995-2005, The Weather Channel Interactive, Inc. All Rights Reserved.-->
    <search ver="2.0">
    <loc id="ARDF0127" type="1">Aeroparque Buenos Aires, Argentina</loc>
    <loc id="ARBA0009" type="1">Buenos Aires, Argentina</loc>
    </search>

    As you see I have two choices for Buenos Aires.

    Next do this in Terminal:

    Code:

    wget "http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/$ARDF0127?cc=*&unit=$m"

    Changing ARDF0127 for an option you got at the URL above and if necessary:
    unit=$s for standard (F)
    unit=$m is for metric (C)

    You will receive a file something like this in your home folder: ARDF0127%3Fcc=*&unit=m

    Open this and see something like:

    ERROR
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <error>
    <err type="2">Invalid location provided.</err>
    </error>

    This is what I sent and the I verified the location by the previous URL check.

    wget "http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/$USTN0132?cc=*&unit=$f"

    Here is my location and how I got the above ID:

    http://xoap.weather.com/search/searc...e=Dayton, TN

    How can I get an Invalid Location error?

    I've got all the files made and in their respective folders ready to test conky with the weather, but how will it run if I get an error on this last part?

    Thanks!
    Our biggest problem is always the one we are experiencing at the moment.

  2. #1502
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    I am working on adding the weather to my conky also and trying to follow the examples posted by Bruce M. above.

    Please help explain the following items to start:

    1) what does the tildy symbol " ~ " and forward slash " / " indicate is the placement of the folder called "scripts" ?

    2) Does this created folder go under my /home directory or where?


    Thanks!
    Yes. Open gedit this way in terminal:

    Code:
    gksudo gedit ~/.scripts/Name_Of_File
    Name_Of_File being what ever you want to call the file

    You'll be creating Name_Of_File in the hidden folder ( the "dot") "scripts" in your home folder.

    Quote Originally Posted by Joeb454 View Post
    ~/ is the same as /home/username/

    so ~/.scripts is in fact the same place as /home/username/.scripts
    You're fast, I was answering this when yours popped into place.
    Last edited by Bruce M.; January 21st, 2008 at 05:04 PM. Reason: oopps gk not gd

  3. #1503
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    Help! Under the folllowing example by Bruce M. that I am following I get an error(see below pasted quote):

    STEP 6: Getting more information

    Go to this URL: (change the city name or use your ZIP Code online, once you click on the link below, it's the easiest way)
    RROR http://xoap.weather.com/search/searc...e=Buenos Aires
    The code is there. When you click on the original link I gave you with Buenos Aires. You'll see the code I got for here, take Buenos Aires out and put just the city name: Dayton, weather.com will then give you choices of all the Daytons it has on file, now pick the one in TN.

  4. #1504
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    Help! Under the folllowing example by Bruce M. that I am following I get an error(see below pasted quote):

    STEP 6: Getting more information

    Go to this URL: (change the city name or use your ZIP Code online, once you click on the link below, it's the easiest way)
    Code:
    http://xoap.weather.com/search/search?where=Dayton
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <!--This document is intended only for use by authorized licensees of The Weather Channel. Unauthorized use is prohibited. Copyright 1995-2005, The Weather Channel Interactive, Inc. All Rights Reserved.-->
    <search ver="2.0">
      <loc id="USIA0214" type="1">Dayton, IA</loc>
      <loc id="USID0057" type="1">Dayton, ID</loc>
      <loc id="USIN0151" type="1">Dayton, IN</loc>
      <loc id="USKY0824" type="1">Dayton, KY</loc>
      <loc id="USMD0122" type="1">Dayton, MD</loc>
      <loc id="USMN0192" type="1">Dayton, MN</loc>
      <loc id="USMT0086" type="1">Dayton, MT</loc>
      <loc id="USNJ0110" type="1">Dayton, NJ</loc>
      <loc id="USNV0017" type="1">Dayton, NV</loc>
      <loc id="USNY0367" type="1">Dayton, NY</loc>
    </search>
    But I don't see a Dayton NT
    What is your ZIP code?

    EDIT: Did you mean to type MT? --> <loc id="USMT0086" type="1">Dayton, MT</loc>
    Last edited by Bruce M.; January 21st, 2008 at 05:25 PM.

  5. #1505
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    196

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Thanks Bruce M. but if you reread my post you will see that I did exactly that and obtained the proper ID for Dayton, TN. It is "USTN0132".

    I made the insert into the wget comand line and I received an error as indicated back for the text file retrieval. If this be the case, then will the script run correctly or not?

    Next problem > I created the .startconky file as indicated but I can't get it to execute.

    I have edited it and check it several times. I have named it ~/.startconky, ~/startconky and .startconky.sh. I have tried chmod a+x ~/.startconky.sh and made it executable, but I get an error when trying to run it in CLI.

    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ startconky
    bash: startconky: command not found
    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$

    Our biggest problem is always the one we are experiencing at the moment.

  6. #1506
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    196

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    I also just tried this for kicks in CLI and got conky to come up in bottom left of my screen.

    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ conky
    Conky: desktop window (e000b5) is subwindow of root window (c1)
    Conky: drawing to desktop window
    Conky: drawing to single buffer

    Weird stuff! I need to do some cleaning up or something. I know I followed your 7 step setup to the letter. Why would CLI excecute on this. I renamed and moved my conkyrc as suggested. Lost in scriptland I guess.
    Our biggest problem is always the one we are experiencing at the moment.

  7. #1507
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    Thanks Bruce M. but if you reread my post you will see that I did exactly that and obtained the proper ID for Dayton, TN. It is "USTN0132".

    I made the insert into the wget comand line and I received an error as indicated back for the text file retrieval. If this be the case, then will the script run correctly or not?

    Next problem > I created the .startconky file as indicated but I can't get it to execute.

    I have edited it and check it several times. I have named it ~/.startconky, ~/startconky and .startconky.sh. I have tried chmod a+x ~/.startconky.sh and made it executable, but I get an error when trying to run it in CLI.

    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ startconky
    bash: startconky: command not found
    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$

    I'll check the wget line in a second.

    Strange that I couldn't get Dayton, TN ?¿

    OK as to starting conky it's: ./.startconky

    Code:
    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ ./.startconky

  8. #1508
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    196

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    OK, ok ok. I got conky to start from CLI using ~/startconky.sh

    It did the 25 sleep and popped up my original config conky in the top-right screen.

    It waited a few more secs and then the following appeared in my CLI:

    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ ~/startconky.sh
    Conky: can't load font 'arial'
    Conky: desktop window (e000b5) is subwindow of root window (c1)
    Conky: window type - override
    Conky: drawing to created window (2e00003)
    Conky: drawing to double buffer

    That's it. No further execution of other scripts that I am aware. Thanks for your time.
    Our biggest problem is always the one we are experiencing at the moment.

  9. #1509
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    I also just tried this for kicks in CLI and got conky to come up in bottom left of my screen.

    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ conky
    Conky: desktop window (e000b5) is subwindow of root window (c1)
    Conky: drawing to desktop window
    Conky: drawing to single buffer

    Weird stuff! I need to do some cleaning up or something. I know I followed your 7 step setup to the letter. Why would CLI excecute on this. I renamed and moved my conkyrc as suggested. Lost in scriptland I guess.
    No, your conky is there.

    Also I did a wget: with the "USTN0132" code id

    Code:
    bruloo@The-Team:~$ wget "http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/$USTN0132?cc=*&unit=$m"
    --14:50:19--  http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/?cc=*&unit=
               => `index.html?cc=*&unit='
    Resolving xoap.weather.com... 63.111.24.33
    Connecting to xoap.weather.com|63.111.24.33|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 111 [text/plain]
    
    100%[====================================>] 111           --.--K/s             
    
    14:50:20 (2.23 MB/s) - `index.html?cc=*&unit=' saved [111/111]
    
    bruloo@The-Team:~$
    As you see it created in my homefolder, the file: index.html?cc=*&unit=

    which reads:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

    <error>

    <err type="1">No location provided.</err>

    </error>
    And when I tried:
    Code:
    http://xoap.weather.com/search/search?where=Dayton, NT
    I get:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
    <!--This document is intended only for use by authorized licensees of The Weather Channel. Unauthorized use is prohibited. Copyright 1995-2005, The Weather Channel Interactive, Inc. All Rights Reserved.-->
    <search ver="2.0" />

    So I'm certain that the code you have is wrong.

  10. #1510
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    OK, ok ok. I got conky to start from CLI using ~/startconky.sh

    It did the 25 sleep and popped up my original config conky in the top-right screen.

    It waited a few more secs and then the following appeared in my CLI:

    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ ~/startconky.sh
    You started conky wrongly!

    Like this:
    Code:
    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ ./.startconky
    Cut an paste this to your terminal:

    Code:
    ./.startconky

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    Conky: can't load font 'arial'
    Conky: desktop window (e000b5) is subwindow of root window (c1)
    Conky: window type - override
    Conky: drawing to created window (2e00003)
    Conky: drawing to double buffer

    That's it. No further execution of other scripts that I am aware. Thanks for your time.
    No problem, I'll be here with you until we get it going RIGHT! I'm retired I have the time if you do.

    What is your ZIP code? I want to try that.

Page 151 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 511011411491501511521531612012516511151 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •