Page 2286 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 128617862186223622762284228522862287228822962336 ... LastLast
Results 22,851 to 22,860 of 23480

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #22851
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Edmonton
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by CantankRus View Post
    What DE are you using.
    You can make conkys to sit over blank panel space to show system info.
    eg in unity I use conky like panel applets so info is always in view without losing any screen area.
    My DE is Ubuntu 14.04 but soon might be Ubuntu Utopic Unicorn Unity-8 (ie 14.10 alpha-2).

    Your panel applet is very cool. I was thinking the same at the bottom of the screen about 3 times higher than the system tray. It would sit below other windows but they could be resized upwards to reveal.

    I think a lot of conky users would love to see how you coded the conky config file to put it in the system tray / panel applets. I haven't seen that done yet in my web surfing.

  2. #22852
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by sladeinflame7 View Post
    thanks Sector!

    Just some notes: first, my CPU temp was showing correctly with 'acpitemp' so what is the reason behind changing something? And second makes my Conky disappear when I activate Show desktop, so I am leaving 'override'?

    Also for some reason my window was too wide, so I added 'maximum_width 300' and 'minimum_size 300', so now it's good, but network graphs are not aligned correctly - DL graphs takes more space, I even copied my earlier code for graphs but it's still same. It looks like this: http://i.imgur.com/NgzcB3I.png

    P.s. I also noticed you added ${goto 215}.
    That's why I left your line above TEXT for you, I had intended on putting it back below but forgot. All you command ever shows on my PC is "30" it never changes.

    Does Unity have a built in compositor now? Just curious as to why own_window_type_normal doesn't work.

    Your window "size" in the original code was:
    Code:
    # Minimum size of text area
    minimum_size 280 5
    The was no maximum_width and I noticed the width of the conky change when there was a really long url in the Network section.


    Re the graphs: because you have:
    Code:
    ${color6}${downspeedgraph eth0 32,175 darkolivegreen4} ${color coral3}${upspeedgraph eth0 32,175 blueviolet}
    two graphs side by side with each 175 wide - change the 175 width to something less maybe:
    Code:
    ${color6}${downspeedgraph eth0 32,140 darkolivegreen4}${alignr 5}${color coral3}${upspeedgraph eth0 32,140 blueviolet}
    I see I forgot the colours in those as well ie: "blueviolet" = 8A2BE2 #138 43 226 BlueViolet Oh well, names work just as well

    Quote Originally Posted by sladeinflame7 View Post
    EDIT: my Conky is blurred once again :/
    Then you'll need the help of someone running Unity I think. Sorry

    It MIGHT be the "draw_shades yes" change that to "draw_shades no" or comment the line out to see if that does it.

    Code:
    # Default colors		### changed this to reflect your colours
    draw_shades yes
    default_shade_color 000000 #  0   0   0 Black

  3. #22853
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by WinEunuchs2Unix View Post
    Please spare me 2 weeks of reading the 2284 pages Sector 11 has posted on. Can you post on page 2285 the three best looking (and hopefully useful) conky's for Desktop, Power User and Laptop user. Just for me can you post the one that fits on the bottom of the screen about 100 pixels high so I can use it just for my environment?

    Please AND Thanks
    I see you have one reply and you can check the Gallery page at Conky PitStop in my sig.

    It would take me as long looking through all my conkys to find something you might want as it would for you to browse the 2285+ pages as I have at least that many conkys here.

    I've been collecting them since 2007, mine, other's and a whole bunch of "test" conkys, theme conkys and specific wallpaper conkys ie: The SpaceShuttle conky on the opening page at CPS. The little weather conky in the centre actually rotated between the 4 Official Shuttle landing sites.

    But I'm not addicted.

  4. #22854
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by WinEunuchs2Unix View Post
    My DE is Ubuntu 14.04 but soon might be Ubuntu Utopic Unicorn Unity-8 (ie 14.10 alpha-2).

    Your panel applet is very cool. I was thinking the same at the bottom of the screen about 3 times higher than the system tray. It would sit below other windows but they could be resized upwards to reveal.

    I think a lot of conky users would love to see how you coded the conky config file to put it in the system tray / panel applets. I haven't seen that done yet in my web surfing.
    This is the basic conky.
    Just add your own variables and position with goto.
    I've highlighted the main settings.

    Code:
    ###### Use XFT? Required to Force UTF8 (see below).
    #
    use_xft yes
    xftfont ubuntu:size=10
    xftalpha 0.8
    text_buffer_size 1024
    
    
    ####
    ## Force UTF8? Requires XFT (see above).
    ## Displays degree symbol, instead of °, etc.
    #
    override_utf8_locale yes
    
    
    ####
    ## Daemonize Conky, aka 'fork to background'.
    #
    background no
    
    
    ####
    ## Update interval in seconds.
    #
    update_interval 1.0
    
    
    ####
    ## This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
    ## Set to zero to run forever.
    #
    total_run_times 0
    
    
    ####
    ## Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)?
    #
    own_window yes
    own_window_colour 676767  ## use gtk-theme-config to set unity panel color then in terminal run "zenity --color-selection" to get your panel color
    own_window_title panelconky
    own_window_type panel
    own_window_transparent no
    own_window_hints undecorated,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager,above
    default_color dim gray
    own_window_argb_visual no  ## change to no if problems
    own_window_argb_value 255
    
    
    ####
    ## Use double buffering? Reduces flicker.
    #
    double_buffer yes
    
    
    ####
    ## Draw shades?
    #
    draw_shades no
    default_shade_color 000000
    
    
    ####
    ## Draw outlines?
    #
    draw_outline no
    #default_outline_color 000000
    
    
    ####
    ## Draw borders around text?
    #
    draw_borders no
    
    
    ####
    ## Draw borders around graphs?
    #
    draw_graph_borders no
    
    
    ####
    ## Print text to stdout?
    ## Print text in console?
    #
    out_to_ncurses no
    out_to_console no
    
    
    ####
    ## Text alignment.
    #
    alignment tm
    
    
    ####
    ## Minimum size of text area.
    #
    minimum_size 850 22
    maximum_width 850
    
    
    ####
    ## Gap between text and screen borders.
    #
    gap_x 0
    gap_y 1
    
    
    ####
    ## Shorten MiB/GiB to M/G in stats.
    #
    short_units yes
    
    
    ####
    ## Pad % symbol spacing after numbers.
    #
    pad_percents 0
    
    
    ####
    ## Pad spacing between text and borders.
    #
    border_inner_margin 0
    border_outer_margin 0
    border_width 0
    
    
    ####
    ## Limit the length of names in "Top Processes".
    #
    top_name_width 10
    
    
    ####
    ## Subtract file system -/+buffers/cache from used memory?
    ## Set to yes, to produce meaningful physical memory stats.
    #
    no_buffers yes
    
    
    ####
    ## Set to yes, if you want all text to be in UPPERCASE.
    #
    uppercase no
    
    
    ####
    ## Number of cpu samples to average.
    ## Set to 1 to disable averaging.
    #
    cpu_avg_samples 2
    
    
    ####
    ## Number of net samples to average.
    ## Set to 1 to disable averaging.
    #
    net_avg_samples 2
    
    
    ####
    ## Add spaces to keep things from moving around?
    ## Only affects certain objects.
    #
    use_spacer right
    
    
    ####
    ## My colors (suit yourself).
    #
    color0 White
    color1 Ivory
    color2 Ivory2
    color3 Ivory3
    color4 FF4040
    color5 FCE3BB #text colour
    color6 Gray
    color7 AntiqueWhite4
    color8 F9A41E
    #color9 red
    color9 FFDB58 #icon
    
    
    #lua_load ~/conky/lua/bargraph_smallcpu.lua
    #lua_draw_hook_post main_bars
    
    TEXT
    ${color5}Use ${goto 200}goto to ${goto 400}position info
    Quote Originally Posted by WinEunuchs2Unix View Post

    It would sit below other windows but they could be resized upwards to reveal.
    In other configs I have given the conky window a title and then used wmctrl to toggle above/below.
    eg with these settings in the config
    Code:
    own_window yes
    own_window_type normal
    own_window_title myconky
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
    Then you can set a keyboard shortcut or create a .desktop launcher to toggle the conky window above/below with this command.
    See the attached mp4(164kb) to see in action.
    Code:
    wmctrl -a myconky -b toggle,above
    You need to install wmctrl.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by CantankRus; August 11th, 2014 at 07:41 AM.

  5. #22855
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    179

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Sector, ok, the only remaining problem is that burring I thought the cause could be multiple instances of Conky running at the same time, but I checked and only 1 is running.

    I can quickly recreate this bug: if I start Conky and leave it working and go browse internet or whatever it works, but if I go to Desktop and start clicking around the desktop with the mouse, after like 10-20 clicks it seems as if a second conky becomes stacked on top this one, everything becomes bolder and blurred. But again checking processes running it shows only 1 conky.
    P.s. draw_shades made no difference.

  6. #22856
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by sladeinflame7 View Post
    Sector, ok, the only remaining problem is that burring I thought the cause could be multiple instances of Conky running at the same time, but I checked and only 1 is running.

    I can quickly recreate this bug: if I start Conky and leave it working and go browse internet or whatever it works, but if I go to Desktop and start clicking around the desktop with the mouse, after like 10-20 clicks it seems as if a second conky becomes stacked on top this one, everything becomes bolder and blurred. But again checking processes running it shows only 1 conky.
    P.s. draw_shades made no difference.
    Try
    Code:
    own_window_type normal
    and use compizconfig-settings-manager to unmark the setting shown in pic.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #22857
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Beans
    179

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by CantankRus View Post
    Try
    Code:
    own_window_type normal
    and use compizconfig-settings-manager to unmark the setting shown in pic.
    I think it fixed it! thank you sir.

    So the problem was own_window_type_override apparently.
    Last edited by childintime; August 11th, 2014 at 08:36 AM.

  8. #22858
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by sladeinflame7 View Post
    I think it fixed it! thank you sir.

    So the problem was own_window_override apparently.
    Most likely.
    own_window_type override seems to cause problems with compiz.

  9. #22859
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by CantankRus View Post
    Most likely.
    own_window_type override seems to cause problems with compiz.
    Seven years ago things were simpler with conky. Now it depends on what DE / WM / composite manager one uses to fix problems.

    Since I don't use Unity but remembered something about it using a built in composite manager one has to deal with that.

    Nice call CantankRus

    Side note I try to ignore 'override' because of it's nature: bold italics mine
    own_window_hints
    If own_window is yes, you may use these window manager hints to affect the way Conky displays. Notes: Use own_window_type desktop as another way to implement many of these hints implicitly. If you use own_window_type override, window manager hints have no meaning and are ignored.
    Point is ... sladeinflame7's conky is working.

  10. #22860
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    CrunchBang v11 Waldorf with OpenBox (Debian Wheezy)

    My Desktop #1 with 4 conkys running

Page 2286 of 2348 FirstFirst ... 128617862186223622762284228522862287228822962336 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •