Page 2248 of 2327 FirstFirst ... 124817482148219822382246224722482249225022582298 ... LastLast
Results 22,471 to 22,480 of 23263

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #22471
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by glennvan View Post
    So I have something that is causing a bit of confusion for me. I have an issue with my wired stats not really showing up with the up/downspeed graphs and other counters. The ip shows up and is correct. I have also tried using vnstat and it won't collect any stats for the eth0 connection either. The wireless section works correctly though...
    this will show you current connected net device
    Code:
    ip -f inet -oneline addr
    and if you want vnstat to gather data from your net device, then you must make vnstat database for that device first
    Code:
    vnstat -u -i eth0
    then you must wait for it to gather statistic... at least an hour, but one day is better.
    Linux Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12.10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Lenovo T61, Intel X3100, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
    Linux user No.: 483055 | My Conky Pitstop corner | One4All project

  2. #22472
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Beans
    4

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    So here is the outputs, first is ifconfig and then followed is the vnstat.:
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 20:89:84:29:57:85
    inet addr:192.168.2.22 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::2289:84ff:fe29:5785/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:7000 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:16


    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:2140 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2140 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:201938 (201.9 KB) TX bytes:201938 (201.9 KB)


    vmnet1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:01
    inet addr:192.168.72.1 Bcast:192.168.72.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:1/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:205 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    vmnet8 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:50:56:c0:00:08
    inet addr:192.168.209.1 Bcast:192.168.209.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::250:56ff:fec0:8/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:205 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 9c:4e:36:8e:46:a4
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    glenn@Beast2 ~ $ vnstat


    rx / tx / total / estimated
    wlan0:
    Nov '13 82 KiB / 148 KiB / 230 KiB / 0 KiB
    11/20/13 82 KiB / 148 KiB / 230 KiB
    11/21/13 0 KiB / 0 KiB / 0 KiB / --


    eth0: Not enough data available yet.

    And here is what the section of my conky looks like as I am transferring about 400 gig of data across the wired network...
    Screenshot.png

    UPDATE:
    After the 400 gig of stuff was transferred, vnstat still says not enough data available, and the conky output is the same...
    Last edited by glennvan; November 23rd, 2013 at 07:15 PM. Reason: Update

  3. #22473
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    North Sweden
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    I want this one:
    http://gnome-look.org/content/show.p...?content=92328

    I got same error as this dude, which nobody has responded on because it's probably a deep mystery this advanced haxxing stuffs knowledges:
    Hi all,

    thanks for this post. I followed the instructions as per the post, but still get the basic, original (and quite ugly!) conky black window. when running conky -c ~/.conkycolors/conkyrc , I get the message:

    Conky: invalid configuration file '/home/martin/.conkycolors/conkyrc'

    Conky: desktop window (c00021) is subwindow of root window (ab)
    Conky: window type - desktop
    Conky: drawing to created window (0x4200001)
    Conky: drawing to single buffer

    For some reason it is not recognising the configuration file at all and just running the original config for conky. I have NOT edited the configuration file at all (conkyrc). I am quite new to linux so no idea how to troubleshoot... I am using Linux Mint Cinnamon 13.

    This seemed to be the best thread on easily configuring conky so I hope iit can be easily worked out!

    many thanks in advance for your time and help

    m
    Got exactly thing on this.
    I deleted my old .conkyrc file too and tried install this all again, but still no working.
    Also on that ugly black boxed window, when I press anywhere on desktop it just disappear.

  4. #22474
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    5

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    You just have to be patient. They are really good at Conky here, but they all have lives outside the forum.
    I'm sure when they log in, the first place they check is this Mega Conky thread.
    Keep in mind it is the weekend now as well.

  5. #22475
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Niemil View Post
    I want this one:
    ...he cried, pointing to one of the more expensive items in the conky shop window.

    If you installed correctly you should see a help page when you run this in terminal....
    Code:
    conky-colors --help
    conky-colors is an application that creates a conkyrc according to what options you choose
    when running conky-colors

    I believe there is no conkyrc created until you run "conky-colors" with some options.
    It does not use the config in your home folder, .conkyrc. If you simply run "conky", this is the config used and if that file is malformed or
    doesn't exist you will see the default ugly black config.

    Running "conky-colors" with options creates a conkyrc in ~/.conkycolors....a hidden folder in your home directory.
    It will give you the command to run conky using that config after running conky-colors with options.

    eg I chose the first one on the gnome-look page under the heading "OPTIONS FROM THE SCREENSHOT:"......
    Code:
    glen@Raring:~$ conky-colors --cpu=2 --calendar --photord --clementine=cd --hd=default --network --theme=wise
    Ubuntu/Debian distro? [y/N]: y
    cp: overwrite ‘/home/glen/.conkycolors/bin/conkyPhotoRandom’? 
    Your conkyrc was copied to /home/glen/.conkycolors
    Generated configuration files are copied to /home/glen/.conkycolors
    
    To run conky-colors and conky type: 
    conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/conkyrc
    glen@Raring:~$ conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/conkyrc
    Conky: desktop window (2400002) is subwindow of root window (294)
    Conky: window type - normal
    Conky: drawing to created window (0x3000002)
    Conky: drawing to double buffer
    302.jpg


    As you see I was shown...
    Code:
    conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/conkyrc
    or you can use
    Code:
    conky -c ~/.conkycolors/conkyrc
    which will work for any user.
    If this file was not created when you ran conky-colors <options>, conky will use the sample config
    from /etc/conky/conky.conf or if malformed may just quit with error.
    303.jpg


    Now you can autostart conky using that as the command in startup applications....
    Code:
    conky -c ~/.conkycolors/conkyrc
    If using compiz add a pause before starting to give compiz time to load...
    Code:
    conky -p 15 -c ~/.conkycolors/conkyrc
    Last edited by stinkeye; November 24th, 2013 at 06:46 AM.

  6. #22476
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    North Sweden
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Ahhhh now I understanding. Thanks
    But, I tried do with gmail, but it doesn't work? I check in options and this is what I type (well, after censor the user and pass)

    conky-colors --cpu=2 --hd=default --network --theme=wise --gmail --user=name@mail.com --passwd=mypassword

    Everything updated and got correct except nothing about gmail came up, and 100% sure of correct mail and pass I have

    [edit]
    SLS mode is dope!
    But it's too far to the right, fix for that!? this is how code look like:
    conky-colors --ubuntu --cpu=2 --hd=simple --network --theme=orange --cputemp --battery --weather=SWXX0019 --unit=C --sls

    [edit#2]
    Also, is it possible to run multiple of these conky colors and make more custom of where they are going to be on the screen, like define it by pixels of where it's going to be? Only option for that I can see so far is the side=, which doesn't work for me :S I did side=left (with the two lines in start, cannot write them manually on this laptop as the keys are broken so always need copy em)
    Last edited by Niemil; November 24th, 2013 at 01:23 PM.

  7. #22477
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    gmail works here, using name@gmail.com or just name
    Is it giving you a login error in the terminal?
    Have a look in your ~/.conkycolors/conkyrc to see if it is correct.
    Does your password contain special charcters?
    The conkyEmail script uses IMAP...check this is enabled in your gmail preferences.

    To position conky, look in ~/.conkycolors/conkyrc....
    Code:
    alignment top_right
    gap_x 25
    gap_y 40
    In terminal for an explanation see the conky manual page.....(or load in web browser for easier searching... http://conky.sourceforge.net/docs.html )
    Code:
    man conky
    alignment
    Aligned position on screen, may be top_left, top_right, top_middle, bottom_left, bottom_right, bottom_middle, middle_left, middle_middle, middle_right, or none (also can be abreviated as tl, tr, tm, bl, br, bm, ml, mm, mr). See also gap_x and gap_y.

    Each time you run the conky-colors --options, your ~/.conkycolors/conkyrc is overwritten
    so you would have to copy and rename before making a new config.
    Then run one of the configs with
    Code:
    conky -c /path/to/config
    eg to run the 3 configs shown in pic that I renamed I would use
    Code:
    conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/mail.conkyrc
    conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/clementine.conkyrc
    conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/rings.conkyrc
    If you want to run all 3 use a script (toggle conkys on/off)...
    eg toggle-conky.sh (copy paste and save in gedit then right click on file ...properties > permisions > allow execute)
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    # click to start, click to stop
    
    if pidof conky | grep [0-9] > /dev/null
    then
     exec killall conky 
    else
    	conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/mail.conkyrc &
    	conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/clementine.conkyrc &
    	conky -c /home/glen/.conkycolors/rings.conkyrc &
    	
    fi
    Edit to use your own conkyrc paths.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by stinkeye; November 24th, 2013 at 03:33 PM.

  8. #22478
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    North Sweden
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Oh thanks! I will try those stuffs out.

    The first one with gmail, it still doesn't work. And now I try on another computer (main one), the one I also have some issue with temperature. Weird thing it seems to detect the temp (got it on screenshot here too), but seems not to be generated for the conky, it's just empty there.

    Anyway, no errors comes up, but nothing about the gmail too.
    My mail is visible on screenshot (no matter if it's public anyway), but the password I censured and it's no special characters, it's just lowcased letters and numbers.
    http://i.imgur.com/1OD4vC0.png

    [EDIT]
    I don't understand how that .sh file works. I have done it and saved in documents, but I cannot run it. I tried with sudo sh toggle-conky.sh in terminal, but seems not to work. It says: sh: 0: Can't open toggle-conky.sh
    Last edited by Niemil; November 24th, 2013 at 06:39 PM.

  9. #22479
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Check in the file browsers preferences > behavior that
    ask each time is marked for executable text files.
    This used to be the default behavior but was changed to view.
    Then just clicking on it will bring up a dialogue window.
    Choose run.

    Remember conky-colors is just creating a config and if something is not working
    when using that config you need to post the conkyrc.

    If you want to do a lot of customization of your conky your better off learning how the config works.
    It's not that hard and learning conky is mainly how I learnt to use linux.
    conky-colors is an excellent program that helmuthdu put a lot of work into but if you take
    some time to see how the config works, you'll be able adapt conky-colors configs to your liking or create your own.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by stinkeye; November 24th, 2013 at 08:08 PM.

  10. #22480
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    North Sweden
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Ahh nice!
    It did work to close it, but when I try run it again it doesn't appear.
    Here I got how code looks and also to show it's right path.

    Writing in manually conky -c /home/user/.conkycolors/conkyrc and conky -c /home/user/.conkycolors/info.conkyrc works in terminal. However I notice that it is kind of lagging when I write it in, first it appears, but the terminal aren't stopping, it doesn't go back to the writing mode so I can write new codes. So I usually shut down terminal, and then the conky window disappear for about 2 seconds, and then it appears again and are fully working.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 2248 of 2327 FirstFirst ... 124817482148219822382246224722482249225022582298 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •