Page 2086 of 2327 FirstFirst ... 1086158619862036207620842085208620872088209621362186 ... LastLast
Results 20,851 to 20,860 of 23263

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #20851
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Under a rock
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by IbsUser View Post
    hi,

    i followed the guide at
    http://www.upubuntu.com/2012/07/conk...-for-your.html

    everything works fine except battery ring.

    my battery is BAT0 and i get the following error:
    Conky: can't open /sys/class/power_supply/BAT1/uevent: No such file or directory

    Where in conky files i can change BAT1 for BAT0?

    tks in advance for your help!
    according to the conky objects page BAT0 should be the default
    http://conky.sourceforge.net/variables.html
    battery (num) Battery status and remaining percentage capacity of ACPI or APM battery. ACPI battery number can be given as argument (default is BAT0).

    battery_bar (height),(width) (num) Battery percentage remaining of ACPI battery in a bar. ACPI battery number can be given as argument (default is BAT0).

    battery_percent (num) Battery percentage remaining for ACPI battery. ACPI battery number can be given as argument (default is BAT0).
    what does your conkyrc look like?

    Quote Originally Posted by IbsUser View Post
    Code:
    ${battery_percent BAT0}%conk
    just saw this reply - try just ${battery_percent} and see what happens

    otherwise dont worry about the errors, as long as the conky is working the errors dont affect anything

    also what version of conky are you using?
    in terminal
    Code:
    conky -v
    Last edited by mrpeachy; October 23rd, 2012 at 02:26 AM.

  2. #20852
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wabasha MN
    Beans
    2,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Are there any others out here having problems with Conky display in 12.10. Conky is set to refresh and sometimes the transparency doesn't seem to work.
    Here are two screen shots to show what I am talking about.
    Workspace 1_002.jpg Workspace 1_001.jpg
    This is only happening once in awhile.
    Here is my .conkyrc file.
    Code:
    # UBUNTU-CONKY
    # A comprehensive conky script, configured for use on
    # Ubuntu 12.04 / Debian Unity, without the need for any external scripts.
    #
    # Based on conky-jc and the default .conkyrc.
    # INCLUDES:
    # - tail of /var/log/syslog
    # - netstat shows number of connections from your computer and application/PID making it. Kill spyware!
    #
    # -- Pengo
    # 
    
    
    # Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
    own_window yes
    own_window_type override
    own_window_transparent yes
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
     
    # Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
    double_buffer yes
     
    # fiddle with window
    use_spacer right
    
    # Use Xft?
    use_xft yes
    xftfont DejaVu Sans:size=8
    xftalpha 0.8
    text_buffer_size 2048
     
    # Update interval in seconds
    update_interval 3.0
     
    # Minimum size of text area
    # minimum_size 250 5
     
    # Draw shades?
    draw_shades no
     
    # Text stuff
    draw_outline no # amplifies text if yes
    draw_borders no
    uppercase no # set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
     
    # Stippled borders?
    stippled_borders 3
     
    # border margins
    # border_margin 9
     
    # border width
    # border_width 10
     
    # Default colors and also border colors, grey90 == #e5e5e5
    default_color grey
     
    own_window_colour brown
    own_window_transparent yes
     
    # Text alignment, other possible values are commented
    #alignment top_left
    alignment top_right
    #alignment bottom_left
    #alignment bottom_right
     
    # Gap between borders of screen and text
    gap_x 10
    gap_y 10
     
    # stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen
     
    TEXT
    $color
    ${color orange} ${hr 2}$color
    ${color orange}SYSTEM ${hr 2}$color
    $nodename $sysname $kernel on $machine
     
    ${color orange}CPU ${hr 2}$color
    ${freq}MHz   Load: ${loadavg}   Temp: ${acpitemp}
    $cpubar
    ${cpugraph 000000 ffffff}
    ${font DejaVu Sans Mono:size=8}NAME              PID      CPU%      MEM%
    ${top name 1} ${top pid 1}   ${top cpu 1}    ${top mem 1}
    ${top name 2} ${top pid 2}   ${top cpu 2}    ${top mem 2}
    ${top name 3} ${top pid 3}   ${top cpu 3}    ${top mem 3}
    ${top name 4} ${top pid 4}   ${top cpu 4}    ${top mem 4}
     
    ${color orange}MEMORY / DISK ${hr 2}$color
    RAM:   $memperc%   ${membar 6}$color
    Swap:  $swapperc%   ${swapbar 6}$color
     
    Root:  ${fs_free_perc /}%   ${fs_bar 6 /}$color 
    hda1:  ${fs_free_perc /dev/sda1}%   ${fs_bar 6 /dev/sda1}$color
     
    ${color orange}NETWORK (${addr wlan0}) ${hr 2}$color
    Down: $color${downspeed wlan0} k/s ${alignr}Up: ${upspeed wlan0} k/s
    ${downspeedgraph wlan0 25,140 000000 ff0000} ${alignr}${upspeedgraph wlan0 
    25,140 000000 00ff00}$color
    Total: ${totaldown wlan0} ${alignr}Total: ${totalup wlan0}
    ${execi 30 netstat -ept | grep ESTAB | awk '{print $9}' | cut -d: -f1 | sort | uniq -c | sort -nr}
    ${color orange}LOGGING ${hr 2}$color
    ${execi 30 tail -n3 /var/log/syslog | awk '{print " ",$5,$6,$7,$8,$9,$10}' | fold -w50}
    
     
    # ${color orange}FORTUNE ${hr 2}$color
    # ${execi 120 fortune -s | fold -w50}
    
    ${color orange}programs that are connecting to the outside world ${hr 2}$color
    ${execi 30 netstat -ept | grep ESTAB | awk '{print $9}' | cut -d: -f1 | sort | uniq -c | sort -nr}
    
    ${color orange}Looking for Zombies ${hr 2}$color
    I am starting to think this is a bug.
    Last edited by irv; October 23rd, 2012 at 04:10 PM.
    Information on my Main laptop. Information on my small laptop Dell 11 3000
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 250 SSD.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

  3. #20853
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by irv View Post
    Are there any others out here having problems with Conky display in 12.10. Conky is set to refresh and sometimes the transparency doesn't seem to work.
    Here are two screen shots to show what I am talking about.
    Do you need to be root to read: /var/log/syslog on your system?

    Also:
    Code:
    # border margins
    # border_margin 9
    border margins have changed to:
    Code:
    # border_inner_margin x
    # border_outer_margin x
    I see you have them commented out but for future reference.

    What version of conky are you running?
    Code:
    conky -v
    if v1.8.1 - try updating to 1.9.1-2:

    Add Vincent's PPA to your sources list. (He maintains conky for Debian based systems)

    In a Terminal:
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:vincent-c/conky
    sudo apt-get update
    Make sure you are using conky-all not just conky.

  4. #20854
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,989
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by irv View Post
    Are there any others out here having problems with Conky display in 12.10.

    Code:
    # Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
    own_window yes
    own_window_type override
    own_window_transparent yes
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

    Here's what I use in my script(s), Irv.

    Haven't had any complaints...

    Code:
    ####
    ## Create 'own_window' type. Makes Conky behave like other panels.
    #
    own_window yes
    own_window_transparent yes
    own_window_type normal
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
    ####
    ## Some distros require the following lines for true transparency.
    #
    # own_window_argb_visual yes
    # own_window_argb_value 255
    You may, or may not have to un-comment the last two lines, depending on your rig.

    This gives true transparency in 12.10










    As you can see, I'm now running the Ubuntu 13.04 pre-toolchain dev release, but...

    It works fine in Ubu 12.10 Unity, Gnome-Shell, LXDE/Openbox, and everything else I've tested it on.

    Just make sure you're running Conky-ALL 1.8.0-1 or Conky-ALL 1.9.0-2


    From my terminal...

    Code:
    vindsl@Zuul:~$ apt-cache policy conky-all
    conky-all:
      Installed: 1.9.0-2
      Candidate: 1.9.0-2
      Version table:
     *** 1.9.0-2 0
            500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ raring/universe i386 Packages
            100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
         1.9.0-2~ppa1~precise1 0
            500 http://ppa.launchpad.net/vincent-c/conky/ubuntu/ precise/main i386 Packages
    From my .conkyrc...

    Code:
    ####
    ## Prerequisites (required)
    #
    #  conky-all 1.8.0-1 or 1.9.0-2
    #  Conkywx 0.7.8 (Paramvir Likhari)
    #  UTF-8 Compatible Text Editor
    #
    ## Tips n' Tricks: conky 1.8.1 will no longer be supported. RIP :)
    Last edited by VinDSL; October 24th, 2012 at 05:02 PM. Reason: Clarification
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  5. #20855
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wabasha MN
    Beans
    2,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Sector11 View Post
    Do you need to be root to read: /var/log/syslog on your system?

    Also:
    Code:
    # border margins
    # border_margin 9
    border margins have changed to:
    Code:
    # border_inner_margin x
    # border_outer_margin x
    I see you have them commented out but for future reference.

    What version of conky are you running?
    Code:
    conky -v
    if v1.8.1 - try updating to 1.9.1-2:

    Add Vincent's PPA to your sources list. (He maintains conky for Debian based systems)

    In a Terminal:
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:vincent-c/conky
    sudo apt-get update
    Make sure you are using conky-all not just conky.
    OK: first conky -v is 1.9.0
    Second I added the PPA
    Third I ran the update
    I changed my desktop wallpaper and change my text color from gray to black.
    Next I set my startup to run conky -all then rebooted and this is what I am looking at. Now how do I fix this.
    Conky.jpg
    Looks like I have a window and it is top high. It is covering my top panel.

    EDIT: if I just run conky -p 10 everything is fixed.
    conky2.jpg
    Last edited by irv; October 23rd, 2012 at 08:36 PM.
    Information on my Main laptop. Information on my small laptop Dell 11 3000
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 250 SSD.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

  6. #20856
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by irv View Post
    EDIT: if I just run conky -p 10 everything is fixed.
    conky2.jpg
    OK that pasy id needed for startup with some desktop managers, but have a look at what VinDSL posted.

    Especially if you are running a composite manager - which could lead to the background problem you had.

  7. #20857
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wabasha MN
    Beans
    2,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Everything seems to be running OK now and this is my settings in startup.
    Startup Apps.png
    I spoke to soon, it happen again.
    Workspace 1_001.jpg
    Last edited by irv; October 23rd, 2012 at 10:26 PM.
    Information on my Main laptop. Information on my small laptop Dell 11 3000
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 250 SSD.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

  8. #20858
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Under a rock
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by irv View Post
    Everything seems to be running OK now and this is my settings in startup.
    Startup Apps.png
    I spoke to soon, it happen again.
    Workspace 1_001.jpg
    is the white background only after conky is launched at startup?
    what is the command you have to start conky?
    do you have any sleep time before it?
    have you tried different own_window_types ?

  9. #20859
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wabasha MN
    Beans
    2,423
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by mrpeachy View Post
    is the white background only after conky is launched at startup?
    what is the command you have to start conky?
    do you have any sleep time before it?
    have you tried different own_window_types ?
    to start I use "conky -p 10"

    I just made some changes to my conkyrc file.
    Code:
    # Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
    own_window yes
    own_window_type normal
    own_window_transparent yes
    own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
    
    ## Some distros require the following lines for true transparency.
    #
    own_window_argb_visual yes
    own_window_argb_value 255
    The only time it happens is when I minimize all programs and am at a clean desktop. After making these changes I want to give it time to see if it happens again.
    Information on my Main laptop. Information on my small laptop Dell 11 3000
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 250 SSD.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

  10. #20860
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    @irv
    I have the same problem with my conky, for me it triggers when I use quake or minimizing another application

Page 2086 of 2327 FirstFirst ... 1086158619862036207620842085208620872088209621362186 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •