Page 2065 of 2328 FirstFirst ... 1065156519652015205520632064206520662067207521152165 ... LastLast
Results 20,641 to 20,650 of 23272

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #20641
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    @Sector11

    Thanks for the info, but this distro has something ive never seen before, 'conky-control' I looked around in .conky and its beound me !
    I guess you have to have this DE installed to fiure it out...
    If you open system monitor and have it showing the command line in preferences, it
    should show the location of any conky config running.
    If it just shows "conky" it's using the config @ ~/.conkyrc

    See HERE to change your metar code. It looks like the same config AndyOpie150 was using.
    Same method except the conky config you edit may be named something else.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by stinkeye; September 27th, 2012 at 07:06 PM.

  2. #20642
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    185
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    If you want to get the hour ring to show up better find the line's in those text files that looks like this (this is in my clock_rings.lua text file, which is in my .conky folder):

    Code:
     -- Edit this table to customise your rings.
            -- You can create more rings simply by adding more elements to settings_table.
            -- "name" is the type of stat to display; you can choose from 'cpu', 'memperc', 'fs_used_perc', 'battery_used_perc'.
            name='time',
            -- "arg" is the argument to the stat type, e.g. if in Conky you would write ${cpu cpu0}, 'cpu0' would be the argument. If you would not use an argument in the Conky variable, use ''.
            arg='%I.%M',
            -- "max" is the maximum value of the ring. If the Conky variable outputs a percentage, use 100.
            max=12,
            -- "bg_colour" is the colour of the base ring.
            bg_colour=0xffffff,
            -- "bg_alpha" is the alpha value of the base ring.
            bg_alpha=0.1,
            -- "fg_colour" is the colour of the indicator part of the ring.
            fg_colour=0xFF6600,
            -- "fg_alpha" is the alpha value of the indicator part of the ring.
            fg_alpha=0.2,
            -- "x" and "y" are the x and y coordinates of the centre of the ring, relative to the top left corner of the Conky window.
            x=100, y=150,
            -- "radius" is the radius of the ring.
            radius=50,
            -- "thickness" is the thickness of the ring, centred around the radius.
            thickness=5,
            -- "start_angle" is the starting angle of the ring, in degrees, clockwise from top. Value can be either positive or negative.
            start_angle=0,
            -- "end_angle" is the ending angle of the ring, in degrees, clockwise from top. Value can be either positive or negative, but must be larger than start_angle.
            end_angle=360
        },
    Edit this:
    fg_colour=0xFF6600,
    -- "fg_alpha" is the alpha value of the indicator part of the ring.
    fg_alpha=0.2

    Change the fg_alpha=0.2 to 0.6 or 0.8.
    Last edited by AndyOpie150; September 28th, 2012 at 05:22 PM.

  3. #20643
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,257
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    @stinkeye

    Thanks a lot, finally got it, took awhile to find the code (KMIA) for Miami FL.
    This DE runs on Arch Linux and its complicated to me...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #20644
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyOpie150 View Post

    PS: Try as I might I can't seem to figure out how to generate just a thumbnail of my screen shots, or I would have. Maybe I need to change to a different image hosting site?
    If you attach images the forum will automatically create thumbnails and show them in the attachment box without you having to do anything else.
    There is a file size limit for png's and jpeg's of 976.6 KB.
    The screen shot tool, shutter allows you to reduce the quality so
    the file size isn't to big.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #20645
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    @stinkeye

    Thanks a lot, finally got it, took awhile to find the code (KMIA) for Miami FL.
    This DE runs on Arch Linux and its complicated to me...
    No problem.
    I think I first seen that "conky control" in a customization of Xubuntu called Voyager.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=XelYd66FE0s#!

  6. #20646
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Beans
    185
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    I'm using Image Shack and my screen size is only 1024x768.

    I tried every url link they gave me including the thumbnail link (it doesn't even show anything when I select "insert image" and paste the URL in).

    All I can do to get the size of the screen shots down is to directly post the thumbnail URL's.

    Got a lot to do, will come back and try to re-size with shutter a little later (noticed your thumbnail screen shot when clicked on was only 869x768). Thanks for the help.
    Last edited by AndyOpie150; September 27th, 2012 at 08:12 PM.

  7. #20647
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyOpie150 View Post
    I am sorry! Didn't mean to imply or not imply anything. Was just trying to thank all those that had helped me. Got a little carried away with an observation from my short time here and in the CrunchBang Linux forums. Have edited my post.

    Everybody here has been extremely helpful. I'm the same way.
    I get freely, I give freely.

    How do I share it? I included the links to where I got it from, the text files I edited, and the colors (and color codes) I used. What have I forgotten? I apologize for acting like such a newb.

    PS: Try as I might I can't seem to figure out how to generate just a thumbnail of my screen shots, or I would have. Maybe I need to change to a different image hosting site?
    I think I can speak for mrpeachy here and others as well. Neither of us took offence not meant our posts in a bad way at all. Your second little paragraph kind of sums it up for a lot of us here and it worth re-quoting:

    Everybody here has been extremely helpful. I'm the same way.
    I get freely, I give freely.
    That's what makes this thread the success it is, why it has become as big and popluar as it is.

    Thumbnails are usually generated at the site you choose to upload to. I recommend http://imgbox.com/

    <-->

    See the highlighted image above:


    Free Image Hosting by imgbox.com

    You can upload image up to 10MB in size!
    Now that's impressive.

    To share a conky or LUA script just copy and paste it between CODE tags.

    When editing/creating a post it is the # symbol you'll see (without the space between "E )" ):
    [CODE ]paste your conky/lua/bash scripts here[/CODE ]

  8. #20648
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    @Sector11

    Thanks for the info, but this distro has something ive never seen before, 'conky-control' I looked around in .conky and its beound me !
    I guess you have to have this DE installed to fiure it out...
    Here it is in action on Voyager (Xubu 12.04) along with other stuff.
    WARNING: if you don't like elevator music, turn your sound down/off.

    EDIT: I got sidetracked by the other post and stinkeye beat me to it!

    First thing I'd do is rip that sucker out of there. I want my conkys 'my way' while other want conkys their way.

    On second thought... more google:

    Looks like one can have both - if you have OpenBox here's a nice way to use it to test conkys. Compliments of pablokal on ARCH I'm sure that same type of method can be used for other desktops.

    Says it requires "conky-lua"

    Interesting, Conky Control by ... I have a strong feeling here that mrpeachy had a hand in this.

    I'll have to investigate more before I make any rash decisions.

    Do you have a ~/.conkyrc ?

    If you turn it off [Conky-All_Stop] what happens if you run in a terminal:

    Code:
    conky
    If that restarts the conky-control turn it off again and point conky directly to one of the conkys - like:

    Code:
    conky ~/.conky/path_to/one_of_the_conkys
    Last edited by Sector11; September 27th, 2012 at 08:25 PM.

  9. #20649
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Under a rock
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Sector11 View Post

    Says it requires "conky-lua"

    Interesting, Conky Control by ... I have a strong feeling here that mrpeachy had a hand in this.

    I'll have to investigate more before I make any rash decisions.
    not me
    would be interesting to see how it works (but im not about to go and install voyager to find out)
    looks like conky_control is just selecting a number of separate conkyrc files and running the ones clicked

    i assume there is the ability to add new conkys to the selectable list in conky control
    i always start conky from terminal
    Last edited by mrpeachy; September 27th, 2012 at 08:54 PM.

  10. #20650
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,257
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    @Sector11

    I dont have /.conkyrc but /.conky which has 21 /conky dirs that you can select with 'conky-control', and .conkyrc that only has '# Overwrite this file if you want to have a permanent setting' in it.

    Conky will not start from term window, just with the 'conky-control' gizzmo...

    p.s. some of those 21 conky dirs have a .lua file in it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by cecilpierce; September 27th, 2012 at 11:04 PM. Reason: P.S.

Page 2065 of 2328 FirstFirst ... 1065156519652015205520632064206520662067207521152165 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •