Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    6

    HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    How to type Japanese in EVERY!! application.

    1) $ sudo apt-get install uim anthy scim-gtk2-immodule scim-uim

    2) Create a file called 75custom-write_japanese in /etc/X11/Xsession.d

    3) Paste the following into it

    export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"
    export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"
    export XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d"
    export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"

    4) sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
    Select en_US.UTF-8 as default, it may be already.

    5)System->Preferences->Sessions
    Startup Programs Add scim -d
    I left the order at 50

    5a)For KDE users/Kubuntu users
    Create a file startscim in .kde/Autostart/
    Paste the following text.
    #!/bin/sh
    scim -d

    Then
    chmod 744 startscim

    6)Restart X or Reboot, Welcome to Japanese Input!

    I did not create any of these steps. This was all done by jalosxal http://www.mepis.org/node/5638 a mepis user. and http://www.ubuntulinux.org/wiki/JapaneseInputHowto
    The only thing I added was Adding it to auto start with gnome.
    Last edited by Graben; April 18th, 2005 at 12:22 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    135

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    thanks for summarizing it up. Just a note to do it via commandline (adding scim -d) to a session it is

    sudo touch /etc/X11/Xsession.d/74custom-scim_startup
    sudo chmod 646 /etc/X11/Xsession.d/74custom-scim_startup
    echo 'export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"' >> /etc/X11/Xsession.d/74custom-scim_startup
    echo 'export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"' >> /etc/X11/Xsession.d/74custom-scim_startup
    echo 'export XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d"' >> /etc/X11/Xsession.d/74custom-scim_startup
    echo 'export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"' >> /etc/X11/Xsession.d/74custom-scim_startup
    sudo chmod 644 /etc/X11/Xsession.d/74custom-scim_startup

    Add scim to GNOME (ubuntu)
    sudo touch ~/.gnome2/session-manual
    echo "[Default]" >> ~/.gnome2/session-manual
    echo "num_clients=1" >> ~/.gnome2/session-manual
    echo "0,RestartStyleHint=3" >> ~/.gnome2/session-manual
    echo "0,Priority=50" >> ~/.gnome2/session-manual
    echo "0,RestartCommand=scim -d" >> ~/.gnome2/session-manual
    echo "0,Program=scim" >> ~/.gnome2/session-manual

    Add scim to KDE (kubuntu)
    sudo touch ~/.kde/Autostart/startscim
    echo '"#!/bin/sh"' >> ~/.kde/Autostart/startscim
    echo "scim -d" >> ~/.kde/Autostart/startscim
    sudo chmod 745 ~/.kde/Autostart/startscim
    Last edited by mrbass; April 28th, 2005 at 08:21 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    Hi guys. I am in step, numer 3:
    3) Paste the following into it

    export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"
    export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"
    export XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d"
    export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"

    I have a problem. When I cannot create a file in /etc/X11/Xsession.d

    I also tryed to first create a file by Applications/Accesories/Text Editor

    and then I pasted the following:

    export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"
    export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"
    export XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d"
    export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"

    and, then, I tryed to save to /etc/X11/Xsession.d BUT, I couldn't...
    So, I decide to save in "home' (/home/user)
    and then move it to /etc/X11/Xsession.d
    And it showed a dialog, I mean a box saying that I do not have permission to do that. [See the pic that I atached]

    What should I do? I normally can install any programs. Besides there is no other user accounts. I am the only one who uses this computer.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Error While Moving.png 
Views:	322 
Size:	15.4 KB 
ID:	889  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kyoto
    Beans
    96

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    Quote Originally Posted by ubuntu27
    Hi guys. I am in step, numer 3:
    3) Paste the following into it

    export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"
    export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"
    export XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d"
    export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"

    I have a problem. When I cannot create a file in /etc/X11/Xsession.d

    I also tryed to first create a file by Applications/Accesories/Text Editor.
    What you do is type the following into the command terminal: sudo nano <file name>
    That will open a little text editor. Paste your stuff as per usual, press CTRL-X to save it as you wish.

    Should be no problem. Always remeber use: sudo (command) if you wish to have ROOT privileges.
    OR, you should open a root terminal, and type in your password for complete ROOT access.

    Cheers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    135

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    ok I've played with Japanese input in KDE, GNOME quite a bit today. General comments are:
    you don't need to add the scim -d to your GNOME session. In fact is bad to as you can wind up with two separate scim processes. KDE scim -d though is necessary to add it.

    Extremely impressed with GNOME/GTK apps as they just all work great. KDE uses more of a hack like the old kinput method. It's not seamlessly integrated.

    Now KDE apps you can't type Japanese while in GNOME.

    When in KDE you can type on all KDE apps and GNOME apps as well.

    Example..say your in GNOME or XFCE4 you couldn't input Japanese in Konqueror, kate, or Kolourpaint for example...but only within KDE....sucks.
    Firefox works in GNOME, KDE, xfce4 no problem.

    Japanese input works in Terminal too....no kterm needed.

    Some major apps that don't work are scribus, inkscape, dia(?),...anyway. I think not till Adobe Photoshop 6 did it accept double-byte characters. So linux is coming along.

    xfce4 works just great...probably reads the X11 startup file. Wow this is awesome.
    Last edited by mrbass; April 27th, 2005 at 06:12 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    6

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    I can type in Japanese in konqueror and other KDE apps when I am using GNOME...
    Last edited by Graben; April 27th, 2005 at 04:35 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    135

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    ok I'm guessing you can do that because you added scim-d to your gnome session as you outline in step 5. However, say you have openoffice or firefox open don't you then see two different SCIM keyboards though? I guess it'll work just may/may not get confusing having two scim sessions running.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    6

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    Yeah I do have multiple keyboards, but it only shows the keyboard for the window that has focus on it. Not too confusing.

    Actually no I don't have two keyboards I misunderstood. The only time there are two keyboards in the system tray are when I have something open as root, like synaptic.
    Last edited by Graben; May 2nd, 2005 at 12:21 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    1

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    Quote Originally Posted by Graben
    How to type Japanese in EVERY!! application.

    1) $ sudo apt-get install uim anthy scim-gtk2-immodule scim-uim

    2) Create a file called 75custom-write_japanese in /etc/X11/Xsession.d

    3) Paste the following into it

    export XMODIFIERS="@im=SCIM"
    export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"
    export XIM_PROGRAM="scim -d"
    export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"

    4) sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
    Select en_US.UTF-8 as default, it may be already.

    Hello, i have q question on 4). The default locale is set to ja_JP.EUC so what shall I do about this ?
    I am trying to input Japanese on KDE v3 on Debian Serge under coLinux.

    Thanks in advance, pjo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Israel
    Beans
    6

    Re: HOWTO: Japanese input in qt and gtk!

    Hi y'all,

    Will this guide let me write in hiragana and kanji like in windows? for now, i can only write in katakana, and not even in romaji->katakana, but katakana stright from the keyboard.

    thanks y'all!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •