Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: How-to: Install flock

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Soy de puerto rico josue!
    Beans
    389

    Talking How-to: Install flock

    ATTENTION TO USERS

    Due to my inexperience back then I did some serious mistakes. Today I fixed a very serious problem that affected some of the applications used in Ubuntu.

    SYMPTOMS:

    I have tried to install Flock manually and with a deb package from getdeb.net I think. I have done them both before on other installs and everything worked fine. However this time I could not get Flock to launch at all. I was no big deal though I just decided to continue to use Firefox. That was until I ran across this thread. I decided to give this command a try and see what would happen.

    sudo ln -s /opt/flock/flock /usr/bin/flock

    Now my internet is completely broken. I am connected and can download stuff with synaptic but I can not access any websites sites with either firefox, Opera or wget. Can anyone offer any help or suggestions?
    For those whose system been affected: sudo rm /usr/bin/flock THEN Please re-install util-linux and everything should be back to normal
    http://packages.ubuntu.com/hardy/util-linux for those who are offline and able to install it
    dpkg -i DEBFILE.DEB

    NOTE THAT THIS IS ALSO IN THE INSTALLATION CD

    THIS IS NOT NECESSARY IF YOU ARE DOING IT FOR THE FIRST TIME

    Well this is my first time doing a how-to since I never bothered to post one (well actually my second one I think)

    Well noticed that there wasn't a flock package in ubu repos and in debian repos so I just got tired and did it my own way

    First step

    Code:
    Download flock
    http://flock.com/get-ready-to-flock
    After downloading (note that i'm using the current version that is avaliable to download)

    Code:
    tar -xvvzf flock-1.0.3.en-US.linux-i686.tar.gz
    Let's copy it (in the current folder) (using /opt if you don't have one just do sudo mkdir /opt )
    Code:
    sudo cp -a flock /opt
    It should've copied everything, now
    Code:
    cd /opt/flock
    ls 
    (If you see the files then we are ok)
    sudo ln -s /opt/flock/flock /usr/bin/flock-browser
    This symbolic link will allow you to just plainly execute it in terminal without going to the folder

    Now, I know you aren't just satisfied with just executing it via terminal so make a empty file and paste the following code

    Code:
    [Desktop Entry]
    Comment=Flock Web browser
    Name=Flock
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Exec=flock-browser
    Terminal=false
    Comment[en_US]=Flock Web browser
    Type=Application
    Name[en_US]=Flock
    Icon=/opt/flock/icons/mozicon50.xpm
    Save it as Flock.desktop and place it in your
    ~/.local/share/applications (It's the one that alacarte uses, else just in /usr/share/applications (you need sudo powers to copy it there)

    Code:
    cp -a Flock.desktop ~/.local/share/applications
    OR
    sudo cp -a Flock.desktop /usr/share/applications
    Known errors

    error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.5
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libstdc++5
    Other errors? I don't know D:!

    User Solutions
    by corney91

    For those having problem doing symbolic links, do this:

    Code:
    sudo ln -s /opt/flock/flock /usr/bin/flock-browser
    by sethvath

    SCIM Problems

    Code:
    cd to your flock folder then
    GTK_IM_MODULE=xim ./flock
    Hope this helped you a lot!
    Last edited by akurashy; April 13th, 2008 at 11:32 PM.
    A freelancer | The GIMP Compilation

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Dapper Drake Testing/

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    Thanks for the how-to!

    Another known problem, which I received, is the following error message when running flock:

    Code:
    ./run-mozilla.sh: line 131: 9733 Segmentation fault "$prog" ${1+"$@"}
    Apparently, this is caused from a problem with SCIM, and can be resolved by disabling SCIM in flock:

    Code:
    GTK_IM_MODULE=xim flock
    For more info on this problem, see http://www.flock.com/node/4752

    For more info on installing Flock (for possible ammendments to this how-to), see http://www.flock.com/node/4934

    Cheers!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Soy de puerto rico josue!
    Beans
    389

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    thanks for the addition, i think that happened to me just once but i'm not sure if it was the same error

    (It was segmenfault but i guess i didn't care enough since it happens to me also in firefox sometimes (RARE) )

    For those wanting to use the nightly build it's the same thing, except nightly right now is a bit broken in flock (had to switch back to current stable)
    A freelancer | The GIMP Compilation

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Greece - Thessaloniki
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Question Re: How-to: Install flock

    Worked like a charm for me.

    I used the Flock's Plugin Installation Guide Quick Tip for using all the already installed plugins in firefox.
    Quick Tip: If you already have all the following plug-ins working in a Firefox installation, you can save the trouble of installing again, and just copy everything in your Firefox plugin directory to your Flock plugin directory.
    All plugins worked ok (java, flash, Totem Mozilla Plugin), except from mozplugger. I used mozplugger in firefox for Embed PDFs with Evince in Mozilla/Firefox.

    Any idea how and if is possible to use mozplugger in Flock?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Greece - Thessaloniki
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    All plugins worked ok (java, flash, Totem Mozilla Plugin), except from mozplugger.
    My mistake, All plugins worked

    When I coppied the plugins from Firefox to Flock, I copied a relative symlink ( ../.../mozilla/plugins/mozplugger.so) of mozplugger.so.

    Trying to find what the problem was, I found this link (in french) that helped me realize my problem (may help others with plugins on Flock).
    Ubuntu Dapper Drake - Test du navigateur Web Flock [ Translated in English ]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Beijing
    Beans
    424
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    I also copied the mozicon16.xpm icon to usr/share/pixmaps. Now I can add it to my launch panel.

    Installed it in Edgy with no lib problems.

    Michael

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Soy de puerto rico josue!
    Beans
    389

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    Great to hear that it works in edgy,
    though why copying the xpm to /share/pixmaps wouldn't it be the same leaving it in /opt (since thats where the icon in the .desktop was directed into it wouldn't have been a problem. in my opinion of course!.
    A freelancer | The GIMP Compilation

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maine
    Beans
    360

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    Reminds me of haxxing up Breezy for Firefox 1.5... ah the memories. Haha. Flock is great I can vouch for it I used ti way back in pre-alpha when it was basically a set of extensions hardcoded into firefox with a new skin =P.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ciudad Aut.de Bs. As. ARG
    Beans
    566
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    I did follow the tutorial to install flock, everythings works well but when I run flock inmediately exits.
    If I did try from terminal this is the error I have:

    The program 'Gecko' received an X Window System error.
    This probably reflects a bug in the program.
    The error was 'BadMatch (invalid parameter attributes)'.
    (Details: serial 118 error_code 8 request_code 144 minor_code 3)
    (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
    that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
    To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line
    option to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
    backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)

    Someone can help ? I'm using Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy Eft. Thanks !] (*,)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    14

    Re: How-to: Install flock

    I installed flock on my system which runs ubuntu feisty. But when I try to run it, I get "Segmentation fault (core dumped)". It happens 100% of the times.

    Any clues?

    Vikas

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •