Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Flatpak does not keep the settings

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2024
    Beans
    10

    Flatpak does not keep the settings

    Hi guys

    In a clean installation of Kubuntu 24.04, after installing FLATPAK support and give all kinds of FLATPAK permission, several flatpaks (Qbitorrent, Clementine and others) present the behavior of returning default configurations when they are opened again, as if they are finished being installed. I've tried to give permission of all kinds, I made a new installation, opened some bug signals in Github but no one can say what is happening and how to solve.

    Does any enlightened give me a way?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Tucson AZ, USA
    Beans
    1,094
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    Make sure /home/$USER/.var has the right permissions and is either actually there or bind mounted. Symlinks cause odd behavior with that folder in my experience.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2024
    Beans
    10

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    I just gave all the writing and reading permits to VAR folder, to all users, but the error continues

  4. #4
    #&thj^% is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    Mine:
    Code:
    stat /home/$USER/.var/
      File: /home/me/.var/
      Size: 3         	Blocks: 1          IO Block: 512    directory
    Device: 0,46	Inode: 135930      Links: 3
    Access: (0775/drwxrwxr-x)  Uid: ( 1000/      me)   Gid: ( 1000/      me)
    Access: 2024-06-04 20:07:49.433462091 -0600
    Modify: 2024-05-27 16:12:06.216701384 -0600
    Change: 2024-06-04 20:38:22.592799143 -0600
     Birth: 2024-06-04 20:25:43.079420282 -0600
    No problems here.
    EDIT: to see
    Code:
    flatpak run --command=bash tv.kodi.Kodi
    [📦 tv.kodi.Kodi ~]$ echo $XDG_CONFIG_HOME
    /home/me/.var/app/tv.kodi.Kodi/config
    Last edited by #&thj^%; July 13th, 2024 at 06:53 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2024
    Beans
    10

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    The first command resulted in this output:

    Arquivo: /home/bruno/.var/
    Tamanho: 4096 Blocos: 8 bloco de E/S: 4096 diretório
    Dispositivo: 259,2 Inode: 25169166 Ligações: 3
    Acesso: (0777/drwxrwxrwx) Uid: ( 1000/ bruno) Gid: ( 1000/ bruno)
    Acesso: 2024-07-13 14:19:56.838670776 -0300
    Modificação: 2024-07-13 13:22:05.059572358 -0300
    Alteração: 2024-07-13 14:19:56.788670049 -0300
    Criação: 2024-07-13 13:22:05.059572358 -0300

    Could you put the second command syntax? I didn't get out of command

  6. #6
    #&thj^% is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    Quote Originally Posted by flokosx View Post
    Could you put the second command syntax? I didn't get out of command
    Sure, your very liberal with those permissions "777" but I get why you have that currently.
    Please show this:
    Code:
    flatpak list
    Then take one of those installed ie, mine:
    Code:
    flatpak list
    Name                       Application ID                      Version    Branch      Installation
    Flatseal                   com.github.tchx84.Flatseal          2.2.0      stable      system
    Freedesktop Platform       org.freedesktop.Platform            23.08.20   23.08       system
    Mesa                       org.freedesktop.Platform.GL.default 24.1.1     23.08       system
    Mesa (Extra)               org.freedesktop.Platform.GL.default 24.1.1     23.08-extra system
    nvidia-555-58-02           …sktop.Platform.GL.nvidia-555-58-02            1.4         system
    openh264                   org.freedesktop.Platform.openh264   2.1.0      2.2.0       system
    openh264                   org.freedesktop.Platform.openh264   2.4.1      2.4.1       system
    GNOME Application Platfor… org.gnome.Platform                             46          system
    KDE Application Platform   org.kde.Platform                               5.15-23.08  system
    Tor Browser Launcher       org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher  0.3.7      stable      system
    Kodi                       tv.kodi.Kodi                        21.0-Omega stable      system
    Lets look with TorBrowser this time:
    Code:
    flatpak run --command=bash org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher 
    [�� org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher ~]$
    Same window on the same prompt:
    Code:
    flatpak run --command=bash org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher 
    [�� org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher ~]$  echo $XDG_CONFIG_HOME
    After that hit return/enter and now:
    Code:
    /home/me/.var/app/org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher/config
    "me is my user here"
    If I need to look deeper then:
    Code:
    ls -la /home/me/.var/app/org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher/config
    total 11
    drwxrwxr-x 4 me me 5 May 27 16:12 .
    drwxrwxr-x 7 me me 7 May 27 16:12 ..
    drwxrwxr-x 3 me me 3 May 27 16:12 ibus
    drwxrwxr-x 2 me me 3 Jun  5 12:52 torbrowser
    -r--rw-r-- 1 me me 0 May  8 06:20 user-dirs.dirs
    Have you considered installing flatseal, it might just help.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by #&thj^%; July 13th, 2024 at 09:16 PM. Reason: add to

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2024
    Beans
    10

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    1- My command "flatpak run --command=bash org.qbittorrent.qBittorrent", returns nothing

    2- Unlike your system, mine does not return:"[�� org.qbitorrent.qbitorrent ~] $"

    3- Flatseal was installed and open and already had all the permission released, which I don't even know what it is for.

    4-I'm desperate, this explains why I am "very liberal" in the permission I give

  8. #8
    #&thj^% is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    Yep Mine with qBittorrent:
    Code:
    flatpak run --command=bash org.qbittorrent.qBittorrent
    bash: 0: command not found
    Welcome to  me
     
    Saturday 13 July 2024, 14:24:30
    Memory Usage: 5921/13829MB (42.82%)
    Support - https://www.ubuntuforums.org (Right click, Open Link)
    Will you now show me this:
    Code:
     flatpak run org.qbittorrent.qBittorrent
    I just installed qBittorrent as a flatpak and first run I set my settings, then logged out and back in again and all settings were saved.

    Since you installed flatpak and added the right remote hub, have you yet rebooted?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2024
    Beans
    10

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    Yes, many times.

    Strange thing. I installed the version .Deb together with the FlatPak version and the two began to present the same behavior! Only after I remove the FLATPAK version did the .Deb version return to function as expected. That's weird!? I didn't know that both architectures could share something in common!

  10. #10
    #&thj^% is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Flatpak does not keep the settings

    Strange Indeed. I'm on Arch ATM, Let me boot to ubuntu where qBittorrent is a .deb.
    Be back soon.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •