Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wine -> Predictwind Offshore app

Beans

Wine -> Predictwind Offshore app

Hello Ubuntu community. I am a complete newbie to Linux. I am an end-user, not a developer. My familiarity is CP/M → MS-DOS → Windows. But I now have a new Ubuntu 24 machine and I really like it.

There is one piece of Windows software that is forcing me to maintain a dual-boot option, and I am here to ask your help it getting the app to run under Wine.

The windows app in question is the Predictwind Offshore App. Predictwind’s download page is here: https://www.predictwind.com/apps/offshore-app#downloads

As you will see, that page takes you to the Windows Store website, here:https://apps.microsoft.com/detail/9n...hl=en-us&gl=US. The Windows Store website tells me that I can only download the Offshore App after I sign in. I have signed in to my Microsoft account, but this has no apparent effect on the Windows Store website.

I now understand that I can only download Offshore by using the Windows Store App, not the Windows Store website.

Help?

What I have tried:
    > Installed Wine, all OK.
    > Following instructions I found here (https://askubuntu.com/questions/1111...-apps-on-linux) I downloaded the "appxBundle"
    > I extracted the APPX file. This resulted in an Offshore.exe file.
    > I ran "wine Offshore.exe" and got error “Unhandled ID query type 0x5”

Note that I think the resulting Offshore.exe file is the actual app, and is not an installer. So by trying to run it (under Wine) it immediately goes looking for components that are not installed, hence the fail.

I would appreciate any help the community can provide.

Given my neophyte status, in my dreams one of you will simply install Offshore on one of your machines, and then tell me the steps that worked. Of course, I appreciate that this is a big request so I’ll be happy with whatever smaller aid you may provide.

Respectfully,

Chris McKesson

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu