Thread: I can't figure out how to get full screen. Please help!

Beans

I can't figure out how to get full screen. Please help!

Hello, I want to start out by saying I am very new to Linux and virtual machines. I am trying to learn some new things here so please don't bite my head off. I have ubuntu 22.04 LTS running on VMWare workstation pro 17. I have been able to get everything up and running so far, however I cannot for the life of me figure out how to get full screen resolution. When I type in xrandr, this is what I get:
    $ xrandr
    xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1176 x 885, maximum 1176 x 885
    default connected primary 1176x885+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    800x600 60.00 85.00 75.00 72.00 56.00 0.00
    1152x864 75.00 0.00
    1024x768 85.00 75.00 70.00 60.00 0.00
    1024x576 60.00
    832x624 75.00
    960x540 60.00
    864x486 60.00
    640x480 85.00 75.00 73.00 60.00 0.00
    720x405 60.00
    720x400 85.00
    640x400 85.00 0.00
    640x360 60.00 59.00
    640x350 85.00
    320x240 0.00
    400x300 0.00
    512x384 0.00
    854x480 0.00
    720x480 0.00
    720x576 0.00
    320x200 0.00
    800x480 0.00
    1176x885 0.00*
    If I set the monitor settings in VMware display section then power on the VM, I am able to login, but I get this error "The virtual machine could not be changed to the selected monitor layout. If you just added a monitor to the host computer, you must power off and power on the virtual machine to use that monitor." and the screen goes black.
    I have gone into the grub menu and did the "nomodeset" input next to the quiet splash.
    I have installed the vmware tools but haven't noticed any changes.
    I have updated the nvidia drivers to 535 version. I have nvidia geforce RTX 3600 and intel uhd graphics 770
    I have dual monitors both are 1080p 75hz HDMI monitors.
    I do not really know what else to try and do.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.