Thread: Ubu on Pi 5 - Am I able to install software that doesn't have a package for me?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Ubu on Pi 5 - Am I able to install software that doesn't have a package for me?

Hello everyone!

This is my first time playing around on a device that uses ARM-specific software and am finding a lot of my regulars are not offered in this architecture. As an example, I'm looking at the megasync download page offering only X64.

Am I just out of luck for these apps or is there a way to install these in a container of some sort that would allow me to use them?

Thanks for your time!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Ubu on Pi 5 - Am I able to install software that doesn't have a package for me?

You are out of luck, unless you want to port them to the ARM CPU. Good luck with that. Non-scripted software is compiled for a specific architecture (except Java). That means it expects a specific CPU model/family and a specific OS to provide OS services to the program.

This is why Java programs, perl, python, ruby, bash, javascript are inherintly cross-platform - assuming they aren't using custom optimized parts that are created for a specific CPU architecture.

Containers are the same. They only allow programs from the same host CPU architecture/OS to be run.

Some virtual machines will allow different architectures to run, but there's almost always a huge performance hit doing that.

Why not just run the programs remotely on your x86-64 computer and have the window displayed on your pi5? This has been built-into X/Windows over 40 yrs. It works. Heck, my web browser that I'm typing this into is running on a computer on the other side of the house, but it feels local to me. It works. No remote desktop, just a remote window, which is very light. Best not to use wifi, but it can be used if the connection isn't bad. Wired ethernet is always best.