Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Having some issues with Ubuntu 24.04...I think?

Beans

Having some issues with Ubuntu 24.04...I think?

Hello!
    I'm brand new to Ubuntu and replaced Windows with an Ubuntu install.
    When I originally installed it -- a popup asked me if I'd like to connect to the internet for additional software and I selected "No" and I'm wondering if that's why I'm now having these issues.

I've been watching a lot of tutorials online and I noticed a lot of the guides aren't working for me -- for example someone recommended the GNOME tweaker so I followed the steps to download from the App Center. I had to manually change the filter from "Snap" to "deb" for it to even show up in the search results. When I installed it -- it just never showed up anywhere in my system ...no install package or anything. It also doesn't even show up in my list of Apps in the App Center. To find it in the App Center I have to research for the App and it gives me the option to "Uninstall"

Another issue is my download speeds are half of what they are on my other PC so I don't know how to speed it up or if I'm missing a WiFi card driver?

Sorry guys I'm a new born Linux baby and I'm a little lost --- help!!

Thank you!

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Having some issues with Ubuntu 24.04...I think?

You should be able to run "gnome-tweaks" from Terminal if it's installed. The "apt" command can be used to manage software installations as well, I recommend trying it out!

When you say download speeds are half, how are you measuring it or coming to that conclusion?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Best to ask 1 question per thread. the expertise for networking is different than the expertise for Gnome stuff. I haven't use Gnome in about 15 yrs, for example, so I know very little about Gnome.

When you search for online articles, be 100% certain
    a) they are from a reputable site