Thread: background images in Ubuntu 24.04

Beans

background images in Ubuntu 24.04

I am very new to the latest Ubuntu version 24.04 and i'm still trying to get to grips with this great operating system.
    Unfortunately i don't like any of the background images currently available so could some one tell me where these
    background images are stored so that i can delete them as and when i get background images to replace them.

Finally, Could someone reccomend a web site where i can safely download background images more to my liking.

Thanks

Beans

Re: background images in Ubuntu 24.04

They're in the ubuntu-wallpapers package
    https://packages.ubuntu.com/oracular/ubuntu-wallpapers

They take up very little space so I wouldn't suggest you go diving through the OS deleting the wallpapers.

You can download new ones from Google Images. Just set a high resolution and search. There are desktop wallpaper websites but I'd say these were searched using Google

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

+1

And I would not delete files in a new OS. Give yourself time to learn and explore Ubuntu.

As far as background images: click on upper right corner icons which brings up menu > select system icon (spoke wheel) > select APPEARANCE

You can add your own pics for background through APPEARANCE. I store my pics in the PICTURES folder and pull background pic from there.
    Ubuntu 24.04 LTS | Toshiba Satellite C655 | i3 2.3Ghz | Intel HD Graphics 3000 | 8GB RAM | 65GB SSD
    Fedora 40 | Lenovo Edge 15 | i5 1.7Ghz | Intel HD Graphics 4400 | 6GB RAM | 1TB HDD

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 24.04 Noble Numbat

Hello,