Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Sandbox error; programs won't run

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    28

    Question Sandbox error; programs won't run

    I woke up this morning to find that upon starting, my computer would not run certain programs. Here are the cases:

    1. Brave
    david@david-ubuntu01:~$ sudo brave-browser
    [sudo] password for david:
    [3571:3571:0508/072450.537344:ERROR:zygote_host_impl_linux.cc(99)] Running as root without --no-sandbox is not supported. See https://crbug.com/638180.
    2. Tuta via AppImage
    david@david-ubuntu01:~/applications$ ./tutanota-desktop-linux_0d66b91d4546d31f933693cf28579c01.AppImage
    [4310:0508/072816.249466:FATAL:setuid_sandbox_host.cc(158)] The SUID sandbox helper binary was found, but is not configured correctly. Rather than run without sandboxing I'm aborting now. You need to make sure that /tmp/.mount_tutanoRuG14C/chrome-sandbox is owned by root and has mode 4755.
    [appimagelauncher-binfmt-bypass/lib] ERROR: child exited with code 5
    As far as I can remember, these programs worked without hesitation two days ago, which was the last time this computer ran.
    I am running Ubuntu 24.04
    I've no idea what is going on here, your kind suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2024
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    Why are you running your web browser as root? In terms of information security practices, this is one of the worst things you can do ... or attempt to do.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    28

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    Until this morning I launched Brave from the GNOME GUI as a normal user. But now Brave will not launch, nor will some other stuff. In an attempt to get at what the error might be, and perhaps overcome it, I tried to launch Brave for the command line as root. It generated the error shown. I also spoke harshly to my computer and shook it like a pinball machine. Nothing, so far,

    Please, do you have any idea what might be causing these errors?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2024
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    Quote Originally Posted by david12 View Post
    Until this morning I launched Brave from the GNOME GUI as a normal user. But now Brave will not launch, nor will some other stuff. In an attempt to get at what the error might be, and perhaps overcome it, I tried to launch Brave for the command line as root. It generated the error shown. I also spoke harshly to my computer and shook it like a pinball machine. Nothing, so far,

    Please, do you have any idea what might be causing these errors?
    The errors should give an indication.

    The first one is "Running as root without --no-sandbox is not supported. " so just try running brave-browsers without sudo.

    The second command says "You need to make sure that /tmp/.mount_tutanoRuG14C/chrome-sandbox is owned by root and has mode 4755." - so check the file/directory to see what it's being set to instead. Do you have a custom umask set in your shell? Have you tried re-downloading the AppImage and running it again?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    Please run this and paste back the return, using Code Tags Please:
    Code:
    brave-browser
    It might shed some light, and please don't run a browser with "sudo"

    Ninja'd by currentshaft
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    28

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    Code:
    brave-browser
    This neither starts the program, nor returns anything at all... just blank.
    Code:
    google-chrome-stable
    Likewise, Nada.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    Interesting nothing at all???
    Please show this now:
    EDIT: I was on Arch so I fixed the code below
    Code:
    stat /usr/bin/brave-browser
    Should look like this.
    Code:
      File: /usr/bin/brave
      Size: 348       	Blocks: 8          IO Block: 4096   regular file
    Device: 8,18	Inode: 9571574     Links: 1
    Access: (0755/-rwxr-xr-x)  Uid: (    0/    root)   Gid: (    0/    root)
    Access: 2024-05-08 11:20:05.000000000 -0600
    Modify: 2024-05-08 11:19:01.000000000 -0600
    Change: 2024-05-08 11:20:05.695397175 -0600
     Birth: 2024-05-08 11:20:05.695397175 -0600
    Last edited by 1fallen; May 8th, 2024 at 07:23 PM. Reason: fixed code
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    28

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    -rwxr-xr-x 1 david david 123506095 May 2 21:24 tutanota-desktop-linux_0d66b91d4546d31f933693cf28579c01.AppImage
    As I mentioned above, when I shut my computer down two days ago, everything was working fine. I have used this AppImage often and repeatedly. I have not set umask; I have not re-downloaded the AppImage.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Beans
    28

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    Code:
    david@david-ubuntu01:~/applications$ stat /usr/bin/brave
    stat: cannot statx '/usr/bin/brave': No such file or directory
    Code:
    david@david-ubuntu01:~/applications$ locate brave
    /etc/alternatives/brave-browser
    /etc/apparmor.d/brave
    /etc/apt/sources.list.d/brave-browser-release.list
    /etc/cron.daily/brave-browser
    /etc/default/brave-browser
    /etc/sysctl.d/30-brave.conf
    .....and many, many lines of info thereafter
    I think something may be really, really broken here.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Sandbox error; programs won't run

    I missed that part for Appimage, after reading the errors shown can you try with a flag "--disable-gpu-sandbox" at the end of your command.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •