Thread: Has my upgrade to 22.04 gone wrong please?

Beans

Has my upgrade to 22.04 gone wrong please?

I was upgrading a Dell laptop from 16.04 (I think) to 22.04 when its power failed and the laptop went off. It had done much of the upgrade (I did "do release upgrade" in Terminal) and it had paused to ask if it should remove several hundred obsolete packages. I said Yes and it was doing this when it lost power.

The laptop now basically works and System Monitor (or something) says it is Ubuntu Studio at 22.04. However when I've logged in, I get a screen saying Debian as per attached pic, which I can't imagine is right. I have Ubuntu 22.04 on a desktop with the jammy jellyfish image and was expecting something like that on the laptop.

Also I don't think there was time before the crash to remove all the obsolete packages but when I do "sudo apt update" or "sudo apt upgrade" there is nothing to remove. Also apt-get autoremove doesn't find them. I'm not an expert user - is it ok to run the section from here i.e.
    ------------------
    sudo -i
    apt-get update
    apt-get autoremove
    apt-get clean

UNUSCONF=$(dpkg -l|grep "^rc" | awk '{print $2}')
    apt-get remove --purge $UNUSCONF

NEWKERNEL=$(uname -r|sed 's/-*[a-z]//g'|sed 's/-386//g')

ADDKERNEL="linux-(image|headers|ubuntu-modules|restricted-modules)"

METAKERNEL="linux-(image|headers|restricted-modules)-(generic|i386|server|common|rt|xen)"

UNUSKERNELS=$(dpkg -l | awk '{print $2}' | grep -E $ADDKERNEL | grep -vE $METAKERNEL | grep -v $NEWKERNEL)

apt-get remove --purge $UNUSKERNELS

update-grub
    ----------------------
    Looks quite scary to me!

Apologies for upside-down photo

Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Re: Has my upgrade to 22.04 gone wrong please?

Quote Originally Posted by andrew-q2 View Post