Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    What shows with:
    Code:
    ls /home/pryan/.config/ibus/bus
    This smells like using sudo with a GUI
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    141
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    There's no "ibus" dir within ~/.config
    Code:
    ~$ find -iname 'ibus*'
    ./snap/firefox/3728/.config/ibus
    ./snap/firefox/3779/.config/ibus
    ahhh.... although the ibus within the snap dir contains a "bus" symlink to /home/pryan/.config/ibus/bus <-- which is obviously a broken link.

    Although... (1). I don't think the ibus/bus has disappeared, but never existed in this desktop environment? and (2). Even when I boot into Recovery Mode and Firefox works, I guess the same warning about ibus/bus not being a dir.

    Possibly this part of the message (when Firefox doesn't work) is related to it?
    Code:
    ATTENTION: default value of option mesa_glthread overridden by environment.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    A proper return for a snap firefox will look like:
    Code:
     env BAMF_DESKTOP_FILE_HINT=/var/lib/snapd/desktop/applications/firefox_firefox.desktop /snap/bin/firefox %u
    [163447, Main Thread] WARNING: GTK+ module /snap/firefox/3779/gnome-platform/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/modules/libcanberra-gtk-module.so cannot be loaded.
    GTK+ 2.x symbols detected. Using GTK+ 2.x and GTK+ 3 in the same process is not supported.: 'glib warning', file /build/firefox/parts/firefox/build/toolkit/xre/nsSigHandlers.cpp:187
    
    (firefox:163447): Gtk-WARNING **: 11:51:57.249: GTK+ module /snap/firefox/3779/gnome-platform/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/modules/libcanberra-gtk-module.so cannot be loaded.
    GTK+ 2.x symbols detected. Using GTK+ 2.x and GTK+ 3 in the same process is not supported.
    Gtk-Message: 11:51:57.249: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"
    [Parent 163447, Main Thread] WARNING: open /home/me/snap/firefox/3779/.config/ibus/bus failed: Permission denied: 'glib warning', file /build/firefox/parts/firefox/build/toolkit/xre/nsSigHandlers.cpp:187
    
    (firefox:163447): IBUS-WARNING **: 11:51:57.400: open /home/me/snap/firefox/3779/.config/ibus/bus failed: Permission denied
    ATTENTION: default value of option mesa_glthread overridden by environment.
    ATTENTION: default value of option mesa_glthread overridden by environment.
    Please try:
    Code:
    sudo chown root:root /home/pryan/.config/ibus/bus
    And start firefox again.
    BTW
    Quote Originally Posted by peterx14 View Post
    There's no "ibus" dir within ~/.config
    It's there with the proper path
    Code:
    ls /home/me/.config/ibus/bus
    55b959beaf3c4e8c885de71ed85401c1-unix-0
    Last edited by 1fallen; February 17th, 2024 at 08:02 PM. Reason: add to
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    Firefox relies on ibus:
    Code:
    find -iname 'ibus*' 
    ./snap/surfshark/10/.config/ibus
    ./snap/firefox/3779/.config/ibus
    ./.config/ibus
    ./.cache/ibus
    ./.var/app/com.github.micahflee.torbrowser-launcher/data/torbrowser/tbb/x86_64/tor-browser/Browser/.config/ibus
    ./.var/app/com.github.micahflee.torbrowser-launcher/config/ibus
    ./.var/app/org.mozilla.firefox/config/ibus
    ./.var/app/org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher/config/ibus
    ./.var/app/org.torproject.torbrowser-launcher/data/torbrowser/tbb/x86_64/tor-browser/Browser/.config/ibus
    Code:
    snap info firefox
    name:      firefox
    summary:   Mozilla Firefox web browser
    publisher: Mozilla✓
    store-url: https://snapcraft.io/firefox
    contact:   https://support.mozilla.org/kb/file-bug-report-or-feature-request-mozilla
    license:   unset
    description: |
      Firefox is a powerful, extensible web browser with support for modern web
      application technologies.
    commands:
      - firefox
      - firefox.geckodriver
    snap-id:      3wdHCAVyZEmYsCMFDE9qt92UV8rC8Wdk
    tracking:     latest/stable
    refresh-date: today at 10:40 MST
    channels:
      latest/stable:    122.0.1-1    2024-02-06 (3779) 275MB -
      latest/candidate: 123.0-3      2024-02-14 (3836) 279MB -
      latest/beta:      123.0b9-1    2024-02-09 (3806) 279MB -
      latest/edge:      124.0a1      2024-02-17 (3852) 298MB -
      esr/stable:       115.7.0esr-1 2024-01-23 (3671) 255MB -
      esr/candidate:    115.8.0esr-1 2024-02-13 (3827) 256MB -
      esr/beta:         ↑                                    
      esr/edge:         ↑                                    
    installed:          122.0.1-1               (3779) 275MB -
    Last edited by 1fallen; February 17th, 2024 at 08:24 PM.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    141
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    Code:
    $ sudo chown root:root /home/pryan/.config/ibus/bus
    chown: cannot access '/home/pryan/.config/ibus/bus': No such file or directory
    As mentioned... ibus/bus does not exist!

    I've also checked backups and I can see no sign of ~/.config/ibus having previously existed and being removed... so I suspect this isn't the problem. I'm happy to be proved wrong on that, but it looks to me like the issue is something to do with the graphics/X11 or something having been updated and slightly broken in the process.

    FYI: I *really* appreciate all your help with this. I'm giving up for tonight, so it'll likely be at least 24 hours before I post again. Thanks again!!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    Xubuntu here as well and you can see the differences between your and mine.

    EDIT: even on Arch
    Code:
    find -iname 'ibus*' |grep firefox
    ./snap/firefox/3779/.config/ibus
    Last edited by 1fallen; February 19th, 2024 at 12:39 AM. Reason: add to
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    What version of Xubuntu are you on?

    here is something you may want to try:
    Code:
    cd && ls -al |grep -e snap -e.mozilla
    ## Mine
    drwxrwxr-x   4 me   me            4 Nov 29 20:18 .mozilla
    drwx------   4 me   me            4 Feb 15 13:30 snap
    drwxrwxr-x   5 me   me           11 Nov 29 20:39 unsnap
    backup and move ".config" out of the way.
    Code:
    mv .config  .config.bk
    Login again, and now any better?
    To revert:
    Code:
    mv .config.bk  .config
    I have 3 Xubuntu installs>>>24.04 (Development) all show the "ibus/bus".
    This problem has me very curious.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2024
    Beans
    1

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    I've had this before, and I've just reloaded my system and the error is back. Problem disappears if you use Wayland but maybe you can't because of apps you use. I'll report back here if I find another fix. And it affects other snaps, not just firefox but chromium for example.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    Quote Originally Posted by digitaltinker View Post
    I've had this before, and I've just reloaded my system and the error is back. Problem disappears if you use Wayland but maybe you can't because of apps you use. I'll report back here if I find another fix. And it affects other snaps, not just firefox but chromium for example.
    As of now there is no option for a wayland session on Xubuntu.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Corrupt graphics in Firefox using AMD embedded graphics

    Please do this and post the results withi Code Tags:
    Code:
    sudo lspci -nnnk | grep -A3 -E 'Display|VGA|3D'
    I looked up "AMD Athlon 3000G" at AMD, and I see: Radeon Vega 3

    Which for that, also show the results of
    Code:
    grep . /proc/cmdline

    "Concurrent coexistence of Windows, Linux and UNIX..." || Ubuntu user # 33563, Linux user # 533637
    Sticky: Graphics Resolution | UbuntuForums 'system-info' Script | Posting Guidelines | Code Tags

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •