Thread: Virtual Disk on RAID5 not recognized by Ubuntu Server

Beans

Virtual Disk on RAID5 not recognized by Ubuntu Server

Hi all!

I'm really new to linux in general, i hope i found the right place for this question:

I have this old PC which I wanted to use when I sometimes have to rsync a lot of data from some other machines. My idea was to put some old 8TB HDDs and one smaller M.2-disk into it and create a raid5 on the HDDs. I created the RAID5 within the BIOS of the mainboard: ASrock H51DM. It shows me the virtual Disk with ~21TB on all 4 HDDs just fine.
    Now when I installed Ubuntu Server 22.04.3 LTS the virtual disks wasn’t listed, the Installer instead would present me all 5 individual disks (4xHDD+1xM.2).

So I continued installing the OS on the M.2.

Is there a way to see the virtual disk and mount/use it? I can see that the individual HDDs are kind of recognized as member of the RAID:

Code:
    root@tkrpm0x:~# lsblk -o NAME,SIZE,FSTYPE,TYPE,MOUNTPOINT
    NAME                        SIZE FSTYPE          TYPE  MOUNTPOINT
    loop0                      63,4M squashfs        loop  /snap/core20/1974
    loop1                     111,9M squashfs        loop  /snap/lxd/24322
    loop2                      53,3M squashfs        loop  /snap/snapd/19457
    loop3                      40,4M                 loop  /snap/snapd/20671
    loop4                      63,9M                 loop  /snap/core20/2105
    sda                         7,3T ddf_raid_member disk
    ├─md126                       0B                 raid6
    └─md127                       0B                 md
    sdb                         7,3T ddf_raid_member disk
    sdc                         7,3T ddf_raid_member disk
    sdd                         7,3T ddf_raid_member disk
    nvme0n1                   953,9G                 disk
    ├─nvme0n1p1                   1G vfat            part  /boot/efi
    ├─nvme0n1p2                   2G ext4            part  /boot