Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Beans
    242
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    Hello, is there any way to install a Plasma 6 version of Kubuntu? Alpha, Beta, Core, Backports etc versions are fine too.

    I can't find any way to have Plasma 6 on Kubuntu

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    You would have to build it from source: https://community.kde.org/Get_Involv...c-build#Plasma
    So far these OS's have it as an option:
    Fedora
    KaOS ISO
    KaOS Install
    KDE Neon Unstable ISO
    Nix Flake
    openSUSE Krypton
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Beans
    242
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    Thanks, I've seen the KDE webpage reporting the distro, but I would like to test it on the Ubuntu base (Neon Unstable is always broken)
    I suppose there is no way to have Plasma 6 on ubuntu at the moment, so I'll go for KaOS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    On building it in Noble Kubuntu, I get this error:
    Code:
    Building ki18n from frameworks 92/142)
               Fetching remote changes to ki18n
               Merging ki18n changes from branch master
               Source update complete for ki18n: no files affected
                 Rebuilding because last configure failed
               Preparing build system for ki18n.
               Old build system cleaned, starting new build system.
               Running cmake targeting Kate - Ninja...
               Unable to configure ki18n with KDE Cmake
    ki18n didn't build, stopping here
    That is where I am stuck at the moment on Noble.
    Last edited by MAFoElffen; December 22nd, 2023 at 10:25 PM.

    "Concurrent coexistence of Windows, Linux and UNIX..." || Ubuntu user # 33563, Linux user # 533637
    Sticky: Graphics Resolution | UbuntuForums 'system-info' Script | Posting Guidelines | Code Tags

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    So close, but no bananas, I thought somewhere it would fail.
    I thought that was helpful MAFoElffen, you saved me some time.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    ::Whispered In Low Hushes:: --> This morning's OpenSUSE Krypton Daily Build installs with KDE 6.0 Beta 2...

    (EDIT: Dang. took forever to install, & pegs 8GB RAM down to a halt.)
    Last edited by MAFoElffen; December 22nd, 2023 at 11:49 PM.

    "Concurrent coexistence of Windows, Linux and UNIX..." || Ubuntu user # 33563, Linux user # 533637
    Sticky: Graphics Resolution | UbuntuForums 'system-info' Script | Posting Guidelines | Code Tags

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    67

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    > > KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    > https://community.kde.org/Get_Involv...h_kdesrc-build

    I found that "The default configuration of kdesrc-build requires Qt version 6.5. Kubuntu 23.10 has Qt version 6.4.2" on https://community.kde.org/Get_Involv...#Kubuntu_23.10

    The same happens nowadays with Noble (https://packages.ubuntu.com/Qt6Core).

    Edit:

    For having Qt 6.6, there is the option of using kdesrc-build to build KDE Plasma 6 and Qt 6 (https://community.kde.org/Get_Involv...g_kdesrc-build).
    Last edited by Ganton; February 11th, 2024 at 07:58 PM. Reason: The kdesrc-build documentation has been changed

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2024
    Beans
    1

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by MAFoElffen View Post
    On building it in Noble Kubuntu, I get this error:
    Code:
    Building ki18n from frameworks 92/142)
               Fetching remote changes to ki18n
               Merging ki18n changes from branch master
               Source update complete for ki18n: no files affected
                 Rebuilding because last configure failed
               Preparing build system for ki18n.
               Old build system cleaned, starting new build system.
               Running cmake targeting Kate - Ninja...
               Unable to configure ki18n with KDE Cmake
    ki18n didn't build, stopping here
    That is where I am stuck at the moment on Noble.
    I had this issue, and it turned out I had my `qt-install-directory` set improperly, so it couldn't find Qt's custom cmake functions.

    I installed via the QT Online Installer (https://doc.qt.io/qt-6/qt-online-installation.html - you need an account). After running `kde-builder --generate-config`, uncomment the line `qt-install-dir` in `~/.config/kdesrc-buildrc`, and set it like this:

    Code:
    qt-install-dir ~/Qt/6.7.1/gcc_64


    (Replace ~/Qt with wherever you installed it - that's the default, and of course if you installed a different version of Qt, pick that). This will let it properly import CMAKE. I also recommend setting your `PKG_CONFIG_PATH` to `~/Qt/6.7.1/gcc_64/pkgconfig`.

    Note: I don't recommend using the easy installation from the Qt installer, I was missing several important things (e.g. the Qt 5 compatibility module) - I recommend doing a custom installation and selecting everything under one version.

    After this, you mostly just have to play dependency whack-a-mole.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    675

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    As this is currently the Oracular forum, I should point out that the release schedule says QT6.6.2 was due to be added to 24.10 on May 2nd.
    KDE Framework 6 is due to join it on May 16th.
    Ryzen 7 5800X / Alpenfohn Gletschewasser 280 / Gigabyte X570S Aero G / 32GB 4000MHz C16 Team Group X-treem /
    Gigabyte RTX4080 Aero OC / 1TB Samsung 970 Evo / Asus Loki 1kW / Lian-Li O11D Mini / Samsung Odyssey G9 Neo / Win11 / Kubuntu 23.04

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    3

    Re: KDE Plasma 6 in Kubuntu

    Helo!

    It is being packed in https://launchpad.net/~kubuntu-ppa/+...u/experimental
    Does anyone have tried it?

    So far, for me, SDDM only shows the mouse pointer. To have a plasma session I have to run startplasma-wayland.

    Edit:
    It is working

    Had to get the sddm package from debian. For an experimental release, it is quite good
    Last edited by microcris; 2 Days Ago at 12:08 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •