Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Missing 'command-not-found' database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Missing 'command-not-found' database

    On the Noble Server I installed last night from the pending Daily iso image there last night... It has a weird bug. This is not on the upgraded releases, but on the newly installed from ISO.

    Package 'command-not-found' is installed but it is not working. If I do a fictitious command, it throws this error:
    Code:
    fictitious --help
    Could not find command-not-found database. Run 'sudo apt update' to populate it.
    ficticious: command not found.
    Running 'sudo apt update', does not populate the database. If I list /var/lib/command-not-found/, the folder is there, but it is an empty folder...

    I know that the fix for that is just to try to reinstall it, and then to recheck that directory to see if it is populated...

    I just want to check if anyone else got this on their iso installer install's, for me to report it as an installer bug or not, before I try to fix it...

    I just checked the pending updates for it, and none of those should resolve that error from those updates... (Unrelated packages)

    So the new installer does an rsync copy of an image it extracts from the Snap into /tmp... Instead of where the older installers used to use dpkg to install the base. So that would mean that the folder contents is missing from that "image" it is rsync'ing from...

    Could someone please check their install, if it happened on theirs?
    Last edited by MAFoElffen; November 4th, 2023 at 08:11 PM.

    "Concurrent coexistence of Windows, Linux and UNIX..." || Ubuntu user # 33563, Linux user # 533637
    Sticky: Graphics Resolution | UbuntuForums 'system-info' Script | Posting Guidelines | Code Tags

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    No daily here just a "sed upgrade" and I'm not helpful on "snaps" none nada zip zilch.
    but:
    Code:
    apt search fictitious
    Sorting... Done
    Full Text Search... Done
    sugarplum/noble,noble 0.9.10-18.1 all
      automated and intelligent spam trap/cache-poisoner
    
    swe-basic-data/noble,noble 4.0-20221111-2 all
      Swiss Ephemeris library (basic set of ephemeris files).
    
    swetest/noble 2.10.03-3 amd64
      Swiss Ephemeris test application.
    Nothing to see there
    Code:
    ls /var/lib/command-not-found
    commands.db  commands.db.metadata
    Mine is installed:
    Code:
    apt policy command-not-found
    command-not-found:
      Installed: 23.04.0
      Candidate: 23.04.0
      Version table:
     *** 23.04.0 500
            500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu noble/main amd64 Packages
            500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu noble/main i386 Packages
            100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    LMAO!!! I thought the command "fictitious" was actually something that did not exist...

    But still... I'll just report it. Just a pain to file bugs from server, where I have to generate the report as not-sent / create apport file, then transfer that to another machine with a browser to create a new blank bug, then upload the other machine's apport files.

    RE: https://bugs.launchpad.net/command-n...d/+bug/2042746

    And reinstalling package 'command-not-found' does not fix it. That package being broken, seems to be the root problem there. I can probable copy it over from something else (so that it does exist initially), but lets let the system work. LOL

    "Concurrent coexistence of Windows, Linux and UNIX..." || Ubuntu user # 33563, Linux user # 533637
    Sticky: Graphics Resolution | UbuntuForums 'system-info' Script | Posting Guidelines | Code Tags

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Coquitlam, B.C. Canada
    Beans
    3,521
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    Quote Originally Posted by MAFoElffen View Post
    Just a pain to file bugs from server, where I have to generate the report as not-sent / create apport file, then transfer that to another machine with a browser to create a new blank bug, then upload the other machine's apport files.
    I have just always said "It doesn't work for me" and set the bug report back from "incomplete" to "new".

    Quote Originally Posted by MAFoElffen View Post
    RE: https://bugs.launchpad.net/command-n...d/+bug/2042746
    And reinstalling package 'command-not-found' does not fix it. That package being broken, seems to be the root problem there. I can probable copy it over from something else (so that it does exist initially), but lets let the system work. LOL
    I get the same as you and will chime in on the bug report.

    EDIT: From bug report:

    Noble 24.04 Server edition daily dated 2023.11.03...
    Mine was from the 2023.11.02 Server ISO, but updated via "sudo apt update" and "sudo apt upgrade" to today.
    I set the bug report to "confirmed".
    Last edited by Doug S; November 5th, 2023 at 04:31 PM.
    Any follow-up information on your issue would be appreciated. Please have the courtesy to report back.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    Quote Originally Posted by Doug S View Post
    I have just always said "It doesn't work for me" and set the bug report back from "incomplete" to "new".

    I get the same as you and will chime in on the bug report.

    I set the bug report to "confirmed".
    LOL. For server, I have to save them... Then 'scp' them to my workstation, to report server bugs from there.

    Thank you Doug! I saw that in-between reeling in some Salmon on the river. I had to go unwind...

    "Concurrent coexistence of Windows, Linux and UNIX..." || Ubuntu user # 33563, Linux user # 533637
    Sticky: Graphics Resolution | UbuntuForums 'system-info' Script | Posting Guidelines | Code Tags

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tāmaki Makau-rau, NZ
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    I was noticing the same thing, too. But I thought it was to do with the strange things I do with my installs, so didn't pay too much attention to it. I'll add myself to it as "affects me too".
    BACKUPS are unsexy — until you discover you should have done one yesterday.
    Spare your nerves and do one before you upgrade or install.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Rezzoaglio (GE) Italy
    Beans
    672
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    Last edited by corradoventu; November 6th, 2023 at 01:11 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Coquitlam, B.C. Canada
    Beans
    3,521
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    Quote Originally Posted by corradoventu View Post
    Thanks. So, one of the 2 bug reports should be set as a duplicate of the other. Even though yours was entered first, I suggest that it be set as the duplicate.
    Last edited by Doug S; November 6th, 2023 at 10:10 PM.
    Any follow-up information on your issue would be appreciated. Please have the courtesy to report back.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    Everyone else gets to have fun but me
    ex:
    Code:
    nvme
    Command 'nvme' not found, but can be installed with:
    sudo apt install nvme-cli
    Code:
    apt policy  nvme-cli
    nvme-cli:
      Installed: 2.6-1
      Candidate: 2.6-1
      Version table:
     *** 2.6-1 500
            500 http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu noble/main amd64 Packages
            100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tāmaki Makau-rau, NZ
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Missing 'command-not-found' database

    I was playing with a couple of Noble installs last night and didn't see it. Maybe it's been fixed.
    BACKUPS are unsexy — until you discover you should have done one yesterday.
    Spare your nerves and do one before you upgrade or install.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •