Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Could not find Wine Gecko. HTML rendering will be disabled.

Beans

Could not find Wine Gecko. HTML rendering will be disabled.

Sorry but I'm a relative newbie to Ubuntu after getting frustrated with it ~ ten years ago. After my last Win machine died I decided to try Ubuntu once again. So far it seems to be working fairly smooth. I'm installed Libreoffice and Evolution to bypass the need for Office and Outlook and they seem to be working flawlessly/

Ubuntu
    Description: Ubuntu 22.04.1 LTS
    Wine:
    wine-6.0.3 (Ubuntu 6.0.3~repack-1)

I'm trying to run a Windows app and am getting the above error even though I installed both the 32 and 64 bit Gecko files. I searched around and found some suggestions that indicated that I might need winbind and winetweaks but neither made any difference. FWIW I also get the same error from "wine iexplore". It starts and shows a "normal" Wine Internet Explorer window but is just a blank sheet below the toolbar. Specifying a fully qualified URL does nothing The windows app I'm trying to run does the same from the CLI.

Terminal yields the following error for "wine iexplore":
    "Could not find Wine Gecko. HTML rendering will be disabled.
    0024:err:mshtml:create_document_object Failed to init Gecko, returning CLASS_E_CLASSNOTAVAILABLE"

wine iexplore https://www.google.com gives the same error in terminal

I tried to create a .desktop icon entry but it does nothing at all (figure it wouldn't but thought the full path might be required).

From searching I see similar problems over the years but can't seem to find a solution. Any suggestions how to proceed?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Could not find Wine Gecko. HTML rendering will be disabled.