Thread: Grub command line - Bios Compatibility Mode error message when running Boot repair

Beans

Grub command line - Bios Compatibility Mode error message when running Boot repair

Hi everyone - I'm new to Ubuntu and having some issues. I am trying to overwrite an old laptop with Windows 10 previously installed with Ubuntu. I only want Linux on the laptop (no more Windows!). The laptop is a Dell Latitude 5590.

I installed Ubuntu using a SD card image over the existing operating system. It didn't seem to work the first time - it never opened when I restarted it - so used the SD card and I did it again. The second time I overwrote the previous installation and got a fatal error - failure to install the boot data. Now when I restart it takes me into the terminal line at grub>_

So I checked this online forum and learned how to make a live usb. I have the live usb running now. When I run boot repair and try to run the recommended repairs I get this message:

The current session is in BIOS-compatibility mode. Please disable BIOS-compatibility/CSM/Legacy mode in your UEFI firmware, and use this software from a live-CD (or live-USB) that is compatible with UEFI booting mode. For example, use a live-USB of Boot-Repair-Disk-64bit (www.sourceforge.net/p/boot-repair-cd), after making sure your BIOS is set up to boot USB in EFI mode.

I ran boot repair info - see attached text file. I've tried to reboot and modify my BIOS settings and disable legacy mode but then it does not allow me to boot into the LiveUSB and I just get to the command line at grub>

I've seen some similar problems listed on the forum here but they seem to be fairly specific situations with steps that I am not sure I need to follow. So - I'm not sure where to go from here - I'm barely literate with computers and could use some help. Thank you in advance.

Attached Files Attached Files

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu