Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: GRUB Command line on boot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Beans
    6

    Exclamation GRUB Command line on boot

    Hey people. I am a newbie with linux. I dual-booted PopOS! 22.04 alongside Win11 on my about laptop 6 months ago. I was not using PopOS that much, hence moved the Win boot option to the top. But now a days I use PopOS sometimes and hence wanted to see the grub menu on each boot. But that grub boot option probably disappeared from my boot options list. Hence I created a new one from the file "\EFI\pop\grubx64.efi". In the past (around an year ago), I had used similar file to create a boot option to boot into the grub menu.
    But now, when I boot into this option, it boots into the grub command line. I enter exit, and then it moves on to the second boot option i.e.- the Win boot manager.
    I also have a boot option which directly boots into PopOS, which means I am able to boot into both the OS's. But I still need the grub menu on each boot.
    I ran this boot-repair thing and http://*******.us/XjrWGD here is my boot-info-summary pastebin
    I request the experienced people to kindly tell me if I should proceed with boot-repair's recommended repair option or if some other solution.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by ajgreeny; November 19th, 2022 at 12:11 PM. Reason: tried to repair link - unsuccessful!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I think I'm here! Maybe?
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 24.04 Noble Numbat

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    Your boot repair link was not working so I attempted a repair which did not work.

    Can you please run it again and simply add the given link to a reply of your own. Many thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Beans
    6

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    Oops, it seems something went wrong with the boot-info-summary link. Hopefully this link works now.
    Or use: http://*******.us/XjrWGD
    Edit-1: If there are stars in the above link, replace them with "*******". I don't know what is happening with links on this forum
    Edit-2: Replace the stars with s_p_r_u_n_g_e. Remove the underscores obv.
    Thanks
    Last edited by geek-ash; November 19th, 2022 at 11:22 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Beans
    6

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    The link still doesn't seem to be working. Here's another try:

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I think I'm here! Maybe?
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 24.04 Noble Numbat

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    I have also tried again but still no luck; can't even get the word ******* to stay in the text!

    Try running boot info script again to get a new link.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Beans
    6

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    The link is: s p r u n g e .us/XjrWGD
    Just remove the spaces in the above given link and you should be able to see the boot-info-summary-pastebin.

    Edit-1: Or try this https://tinyurl.com/y68bwxkf
    Last edited by geek-ash; November 19th, 2022 at 12:28 PM. Reason: The pastebin link is not appearing properly

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    Boot-Repair normally gives link to pastebin site.

    You should only have one ESP per drive.
    Many systems will not work with more than one, although UEFI does allow it, and it seems your system is working ok with it?

    When grub sees more than one install, it should automatically show menu.

    Not familiar with your 31_linux_zfs.
    Is that something grub adds for zfs systems or something unique to PopOS!?

    With 18.04 or later to always see menu
    #GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE=hidden
    GRUB_TIMEOUT_STYLE=menu
    Last edited by oldfred; November 19th, 2022 at 03:38 PM.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    5,288
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    By default, Pop!_OS uses Systemd-boot, not Grub, unless installed in legacy mode. As I understand it, Windows 11 doesn't allow legacy mode, so you'll have Systemd.

    You can check with this command:
    Code:
    [ -d /sys/firmware/efi ] && echo 'Installed in UEFI mode' || echo 'Installed in Legacy mode'
    If it's installed in UEFI mode, you have Systemd, not Grub.

    I don't know Systemd, sorry. As System76 creates Pop!_OS for its hardware, read System76's help. If that doesn't help, maybe someone here knows Systemd, or you can ask on Pop!_OS's support forums?

    Side note: I wonder why Ubuntu Forums doesn't like "sрrunge"? I can find very little about it in an internet search, none of which is offensive. (I used unicode to display the word, which is why you can see it.)
    Always make regular backups of your data (and test them).
    Visit Full Circle Magazine for beginners and seasoned Linux enthusiasts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Beans
    6

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    I just removed the older one and installed the grub again. It works now.
    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Beans
    6

    Re: GRUB Command line on boot

    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Landau View Post
    By default, Pop!_OS uses Systemd-boot, not Grub, unless installed in legacy mode. As I understand it, Windows 11 doesn't allow legacy mode, so you'll have Systemd.

    You can check with this command:
    Code:
    [ -d /sys/firmware/efi ] && echo 'Installed in UEFI mode' || echo 'Installed in Legacy mode'
    If it's installed in UEFI mode, you have Systemd, not Grub.

    I don't know Systemd, sorry. As System76 creates Pop!_OS for its hardware, read System76's help. If that doesn't help, maybe someone here knows Systemd, or you can ask on Pop!_OS's support forums?

    Side note: I wonder why Ubuntu Forums doesn't like "sрrunge"? I can find very little about it in an internet search, none of which is offensive. (I used unicode to display the word, which is why you can see it.)
    Yup I found this at other places also that Pop!_OS uses systemd. But reinstalling the grub does the job for me. Now I can see the Grub menu on each bootup.
    Thanks!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •