Thread: How to upgrade Server 20.04 to 22.04

Beans

How to upgrade Server 20.04 to 22.04

As in title. I'm a newbie.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: How to upgrade Server 20.04 to 22.04

Before doing anything you should verify that you have all your data backed up in a separate backup location, and that you know how to do a restore on a fresh installation if needed. Backup doesn't mean a clone or mirror. Know where all your configuration files are, and know how to access them if your system is down so that you can restore to a new installation if needed. Once you are confident you can recover if something goes wrong, then look in to how to upgrade if you must.

Perhaps you have found this. Read through it all & understand it before doing anything.
    https://ubuntu.com/server/docs/upgrade-introduction

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Once upgraded with the latest updates...
    [code]
    sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade
    [code]
    Backup using your preferred method to a different drive.

Then upgrade the release
    Code:
    sudo do-release-upgrade
    Though honestly, if doing a production server, I migrate to the newer release, instead of upgrade the release in place:
    - Update to latest updates.
    - Backup data and configs.
    - I dump the manually installed packages. Process that list to just the applications that were installed.
    - I check the storage for any potential problems and do any maintenance. Then wipe the disks, changing out any old disks.
    - Install the new release.
    - Install the applications. I do this from a post install script made from the processed list.
    - Install the config files and data from my backups.
    - Test the system.

"Concurrent coexistence of Windows, Linux and UNIX..." || Ubuntu user # 33563, Linux user # 533637
    Sticky: Graphics Resolution | UbuntuForums 'system-info' Script | Posting Guidelines | Code Tags

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro