Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44

Thread: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    1,994

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    So the ldd output definitely shows that Xwayland needs the amd64 libraries, not the i386. The dpkg -l output, uses letter codes for state of the package, see the dpkg-query man page, but ii is the code for fully installed. Partially removed packages typically have "rc", and those can sometimes cause problems. I suppose you could try the xwayland install again and see if the amd64 libraries get picked up, or if that fails, individually install the libraries (append :amd64 to the package name if necessary).

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    176

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    Ok, so it is now clear to me that ALL the strange behavior is due to having the wrong libraries. I have no idea how that happened??? Leaving that aside, how should I go about fixing this? Can you please explain how I do an Xwayland install? ...using synaptic? ....or something else such as sending me some terminal commands for me to copy and utilize. Or should I just kill the system and do a fresh install of 22.04. If I can fix it with something that I can trust like synaptic, that would be my preference. Many thanks for all your assistance!!!
    Last edited by jgwphd; August 22nd, 2022 at 10:08 PM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    1,994

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    sudo apt-get install xwayland should get all the libs, i386 and amd64. If for some reason that doesn't work, sudo apt-get install libnvidia-egl-wayland1:amd64 for all of them. Of course, if you don't know how that happened in the first place, the question is what other libraries are missing? If any more turn up, maybe a fresh install would be best.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    176

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    Ok, I'll give sudo apt-get install xwayland try. Thanks

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    176

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    Neither suggestion worked to get the amd64 versions (correct libraries)

    ~/Desktop$ sudo apt-get install xwayland
    [sudo] password for ___:
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    Reading state information... Done
    xwayland is already the newest version (2:22.1.1-1ubuntu0.1).
    xwayland set to manually installed.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 129 not upgraded.
    ~/Desktop$ sudo apt-get install libnvidia-egl-wayland1:amd64
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    Reading state information... Done
    libnvidia-egl-wayland1 is already the newest version (1:1.1.9-1.1).
    libnvidia-egl-wayland1 set to manually installed.
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 129 not upgraded.
    ~/Desktop$

    Do you have any other suggestions?
    Last edited by jgwphd; August 24th, 2022 at 06:37 PM.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    176

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    Do you have any other suggestions?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    1,994

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    Check again with dpkg -l |grep -i wayland and ensure you don't already have te 64 bit versions, and since the installs seem to think nothing needs to be done, sudo apt-get purge the i386 libs, then try the 64 bit installs again.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Beans
    92

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    Quote Originally Posted by jgwphd View Post
    Or should I just kill the system and do a fresh install of 22.04.
    Frankly, that was my reaction when I saw ubfan1's second post (July 19th). Stuff like this is why I always do a fresh install for major upgrades. The trick is to have detailed notes on how to set up the system. All the settings you modify (and where they will be found), all the apps you install, and all the app settings you modify. Some folks put a shortcut to the doc on their desktop, so it can be updated easily. IMHO, detailed notes are more useful than a system image.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    176

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    I executed the command (below) and only one "i386" shows up for client0 with a duplicate marked "amd64". All have the "ii" marking

    $ dpkg -l |grep -i wayland
    ii kwayland-data 4:5.92.0-0ubuntu1 all Qt library wrapper for Wayland libraries - data files
    ii kwayland-integration:amd64 4:5.24.4-0ubuntu1 amd64 kwayland runtime integration plugins
    ii libkf5waylandclient5:amd64 4:5.92.0-0ubuntu1 amd64 Qt library wrapper for Wayland libraries
    ii libnvidia-egl-wayland1:amd64 1:1.1.9-1.1 amd64 Wayland EGL External Platform library -- shared library
    ii libqt5waylandclient5:amd64 5.15.3-1 amd64 QtWayland client library
    ii libqt5waylandcompositor5:amd64 5.15.3-1 amd64 QtWayland compositor library
    ii libva-wayland2:amd64 2.14.0-1 amd64 Video Acceleration (VA) API for Linux -- Wayland runtime
    ii libwayland-client0:amd64 1.20.0-1 amd64 wayland compositor infrastructure - client library
    ii libwayland-client0:i386 1.20.0-1 i386 wayland compositor infrastructure - client library
    ii libwayland-cursor0:amd64 1.20.0-1 amd64 wayland compositor infrastructure - cursor library
    ii libwayland-egl1:amd64 1.20.0-1 amd64 wayland compositor infrastructure - EGL library
    ii libwayland-server0:amd64 1.20.0-1 amd64 wayland compositor infrastructure - server library
    ii qtwayland5:amd64 5.15.3-1 amd64 QtWayland platform plugin
    ii xwayland 2:22.1.1-1ubuntu0.1 amd64 X server for running X clients under Wayland
    bruce@bruce-XPS-8930:~/Desktop$
    Last edited by jgwphd; August 26th, 2022 at 12:56 AM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    176

    Re: Is Wayland default fixed in 22.04 yet?

    Based on the information in my prior post should I use Synaptic to purge the wayland i386 compositor infrastructure client library; the line in the listing in my prior post with "ii libwayland-client0:i386 1.20.0-1 i386 wayland compositor infrastructure - client library" or is it needed for something else. Any advice welcome. Thanks!

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •