Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How can I remap keys for the whole system?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Beans
    6

    How can I remap keys for the whole system?

    The single ctrl key my laptop (ideapad s145-15iwl) stopped working together with the /?° key. I already checked the flat, cleaned it, did everything but they would intermittently stop and come back, until they died for good.

    What I wanted to know is if there's any way to remap it to the Fn key (and the Fn key to the Windows key, which isn't used) in a way it would work for the entire system, including the terminal and hotkeys.

    So far I've only seen solutions that remap them for X and the GUI.

    It wouldn't work for hotkeys, nor would it work inside a terminal.

    I needed something that worked even in runlevel 1.

    Is there something for it?

    Thanks!

    My Ubuntu version is 18.04 LTS.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: How can I remap keys for the whole system?

    Wow all that for a cheap replacement and it's backliight: https://www.amazon.com/Replacement-S.../dp/B0895GDJ1H
    that was US currency, they are not hard to replace, youtube would have a step by step.
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Beans
    6

    Re: How can I remap keys for the whole system?

    Quote Originally Posted by 1fallen View Post
    Wow all that for a cheap replacement and it's backliight: https://www.amazon.com/Replacement-S.../dp/B0895GDJ1H
    that was US currency, they are not hard to replace, youtube would have a step by step.
    First of all it isn't US currency, but price isn't the issue, it's time.

    After cleaning and checking the flat cable failed, I ordered a new one. But there was an issue in the delivery, it should arrive in 3 days and it looks like it will take more.

    While I wait for this to arrive (or for them to to refund me) I'm having to carry a whole keyboard with me everyday, I really can't work without a ctrl key.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: How can I remap keys for the whole system?

    Anyway, see if this can help, your first goal was a bit lofty: https://opensource.com/article/18/11...-your-keyboard
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    3,128
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How can I remap keys for the whole system?

    As a quick stopgap, you could have your CapsLock key act as Control using the "caps:ctrl_modifier" xkb option. If you need Capslock, there are other options such as swapping the left Win with left Control. See Gnome Tweaks, keyboard tab, Additional layout options, or set an option with e.g. "setxkbmap -option caps:ctrl_modifier". The list of options can be found in "/usr/share/X11/xkb/rules/base.lst"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    U.K.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: How can I remap keys for the whole system?

    Can you use the virtual keyboard Florence in the mean time to get you through?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: How can I remap keys for the whole system?

    Almost all keys can be remapped, but a few are directly connected to hardware stuff. If you use X/Windows, it isn't hard. There are
    The Fn is one of those connected to HW and I've never seen it remapped.
    https://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/...tom-remap.html explains.
    This is after login and X/Session startup. Before that time or through a remote ssh connection, it won't apply.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •