Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    221

    Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    I have a Dell Inspiron 3511, a docking station D3100, and 2 external monitors. I do have the slow graphics issues that some folks have noted, but as I'm not gaming or doing high speed video stuff, this is basically fine.

    However, what I want is to have ONLY the 2 external monitors on when they're plugged in, and switch to the lone laptop screen if I'm on the road. However, despite lots of fiddling with the display options, it seems that I'm stuck with having 3. Which means that sometimes alerts pop up on the laptop, not visible, and I have to open up the clamshell when I finally figure out they're there. Also, I have to log in on the laptop screen before it switches to the externals.

    Does anyone know if I'm stuck with this by virtue of it being the USB docking station and DisplayPort software? Or can I configure it to shut off the laptop screen if I've got the externals plugged in? That's been easy in all other systems I've had, but somehow this one is not playing nice.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    /dev/sdx
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    Please go to your terminal and run the command below and paste the result here in thread wrap with code. Thanks and regards.
    Code:
    hostnamectl status
    corn ubuntuforums community.
    Open Source platform where the real world of human is here. Click here for Solve thread

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    /dev/sdx
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    Hi. the command i gave you will give us a little information about your machine so that people in Ubuntuforum community that are willing to help you may also know what system you have. Thanks and regards.
    corn ubuntuforums community.
    Open Source platform where the real world of human is here. Click here for Solve thread

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lab, Slovakia
    Beans
    10,804

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    I would try to disable the local onboard video in the BIOS settings. If that is not possible, then I would make a startup script with “xrandr” to configure the video.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    /dev/sdx
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    Quote Originally Posted by goemonburo View Post
    I have a Dell Inspiron 3511, a docking station D3100, and 2 external monitors. I do have the slow graphics issues that some folks have noted, but as I'm not gaming or doing high speed video stuff, this is basically fine.
    However, what I want is to have ONLY the 2 external monitors on when they're plugged in, and switch to the lone laptop screen if I'm on the road. However, despite lots of fiddling with the display options, it seems that I'm stuck with having 3. Which means that sometimes alerts pop up on the laptop, not visible, and I have to open up the clamshell when I finally figure out they're there. Also, I have to log in on the laptop screen before it switches to the externals.
    Does anyone know if I'm stuck with this by virtue of it being the USB docking station and DisplayPort software? Or can I configure it to shut off the laptop screen if I've got the externals plugged in? That's been easy in all other systems I've had, but somehow this one is not playing nice.
    Thank you!
    Quote Originally Posted by HermanAB View Post
    I would try to disable the local onboard video in the BIOS settings. If that is not possible, then I would make a startup script with “xrandr” to configure the video.
    I agree with you HermanAB. This is one of the possible way to solve his issue. Regards.
    corn ubuntuforums community.
    Open Source platform where the real world of human is here. Click here for Solve thread

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    221

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    Here is the output of `hostnamectl status`:

    Code:
    Static hostname: xxxxxxxx
             Icon name: computer-laptop
               Chassis: laptop
            Machine ID: xxxxxxx
               Boot ID: xxxxxxx
      Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.4 LTS
                Kernel: Linux 5.13.0-35-generic
          Architecture: x86-64
    Last edited by goemonburo; March 15th, 2022 at 09:09 PM. Reason: added code tags and info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    221

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    Wouldn't disabling the local onboard video in Bios mean I'd be stuck any time I don't have it hooked up to the external monitors? That would solve the issue of having 3 but might be a bigger hassle than what I'm currently doing.

    Thank you for the suggestions, though. I appreciate your time. If it's still useful, I have put the output of that program, too.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    This one can be a bit of scare it will disable the chosen monitor, you'll want to have mutiple monitors attached to finish. (Also a TTY session will work)
    find your monitor with
    Code:
    xrandr -q
    mine:
    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
    DP-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DP-2 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 194mm
       1920x1080    120.00*+
    My laptop display is "DP-2 "
    So i would use:
    Code:
    xrandr --output DP-2 --off
    I would advise you to have more than one monitor up before doing this.
    now when you know your going to travel activate it with:
    Code:
    xrandr --output DP-2 --auto
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    221

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    @1fallen, thanks you for the suggestion. I will give this a try but given my penchant for forgetfulness, I'm liable to be in the airport turning the computer on before I remember I never did the "xrandr --output DP-2 --auto" and will I be totally stuck at that point until I can hook up a monitor? Or will using the keyboard display options work?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wandering
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Laptop with 2 external monitors; only want the 2 externals

    Quote Originally Posted by goemonburo View Post
    @1fallen, thanks you for the suggestion. I will give this a try but given my penchant for forgetfulness, I'm liable to be in the airport turning the computer on before I remember I never did the "xrandr --output DP-2 --auto" and will I be totally stuck at that point until I can hook up a monitor? Or will using the keyboard display options work?
    Yep, just do a key combo Ctrl + F3, then login, and you will have to rember this:
    Code:
    xrandr --output DP-2 --auto
    Imporant to make sure that "DP-2" is your laptop display. That refernce was mine. use "xrandr -q" to be sure, this is critical.
    I'll add an alias if that would help.
    BTW: As soon as you add another montior, you can achive the same as I posted in Post #8
    EDIT: Easy to rember alias:
    run:
    Code:
    leafpad .bashrc
    add these two lines just below where it shows "#aliases"
    Code:
    alias dp1="xrandr --output DP-2  --off"
    alias dp2="xrandr --output DP-2  --auto"
    Of course change DP-2 to your screen.
    save and close.
    fire up your terminal or a TTY and use:
    dp1 to turn off and dp2 to regain your monitor. Thats not hard to remember now, hopefully.
    Last edited by 1fallen; March 16th, 2022 at 12:00 AM. Reason: add alias
    With realization of one's own potential and self-confidence in one's ability, one can build a better world.
    Dalai Lama>>
    Code Tags | System-info | Forum Guide lines | Arch Linux, Debian Unstable, FreeBSD

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •