Thread: Bios

Beans

Bios

Hello! I'm new to Linux, sort of, I've used it before about 10 years ago, but this is the first time I've decided to install it myself, in an attempt to revive an old laptop.

However, I'm not very smart for computers, so I'm struggling a bit, but still managing, however I have something on my mind that I can't find anywhere, it's about the BIOS, more specifically about the process I did to install Ubuntu with my USB Flash Drive.

I went on the Advanced tab in the BIOS and changed Fast BIOS from Enabled to Disabled and UBS S3 Wake-up from Disabled to Enabled.

On the Boot tab I changed Secure Boot from Enabled to Disabled, and then OS Mode Selection from UEFI OS to CSM OS.

In the Boot Priority Order I changed it and put USB HDD in the 1st spot, when it used to be the 6th, the order ended up being:
    1. USB HDD
    2. Windows Boot Manager
    3. SATA HDD
    4. SATA CD
    5. USB CD
    6. USB FDD
    7. Network

Now, the laptop is booting up perfectly fine, and I'm enjoying Ubuntu, but I wonder if I have to change any of these settings back to their previous defaults. One thing I've been thinking about, if I put Windows Boot Manager in the 1st position again, does it mean that it'll try to boot Windows? What options should I change back to how they were and which are better as they are now? I don't know what most of it means unfortunately.

Any help is very much appreciated, and I thank you all in advance.
    Also, it December 25th right now, so Merry Christmas to you all, I hope you all have a good day!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie Development Release

Re: Bios