Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: No terminal there

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Beans
    58

    No terminal there

    Hi,
    Within Ubuntu below, there is no proper terminal to be called. Please help.

    1e.png
    Last edited by slickymaster; December 3rd, 2021 at 05:47 PM. Reason: removed large image

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No terminal there

    Why not install the terminal program you want using the package manager?
    Is this a trick question?

    I install xterm on all my systems, just to be consistent. I've been using xterms for 25+ yrs and know the quirks, but also how to control them.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Beans
    58

    Re: No terminal there

    What should be done now, due to the problem? Currently after havinbg started my OS, it does get into lightdm GUI and I cannot go to the terminal to do other setup.
    Last edited by peter-1984; December 3rd, 2021 at 08:02 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No terminal there

    Boot into a "Try Ubuntu" environment using the install ISO (flash drive) and fix what ever needs fixing. How is that related to the need to install a terminal? I posted for that situation, not some other issues which are outside my skill.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    melbourne, au
    Beans
    1,279
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: No terminal there

    Quote Originally Posted by peter-1984 View Post
    What should be done now, due to the problem? Currently after havinbg started my OS, it does get into lightdm GUI and I cannot go to the terminal to do other setup.
    Please give release details.

    LightDM is a DM (display manager) and not a GUI.

    Ubuntu's main desktop ISOs for recent releases (17.10 & later) use GNOME as their GUI, use the `gdm3` DM, thus use `gnome-terminal`.

    LightDM is used by flavors of Ubuntu; eg. Kylin uses it (https://packages.ubuntu.com/impish/ubuntukylin-desktop) but it uses `mate-terminal` so providing your specific OS & release details may help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Beans
    131
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: No terminal there

    Can you be more specific and explain what you're trying to achieve?

    What's the version of Ubuntu? What's the default language of the system?

    Do you not want GUI? You can always invoke a virtual terminal with the Ctrl-Alt-F1 key combination.

    Did you uninstall your terminal? Check if these files exist:
    Code:
    /usr/bin/gnome-terminal
    /usr/bin/gnome-terminal.real
    /usr/bin/gnome-terminal.wrapper
    /usr/lib/systemd/user/gnome-terminal-server.service
    /usr/libexec/gnome-terminal-server
    /usr/share/applications/org.gnome.Terminal.desktop
    /usr/share/dbus-1/services/org.gnome.Terminal.service

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Beans
    58

    Re: No terminal there

    Thanks to all.


    Guiverc,
    Should the command be like the following?


    sudo apt-get install gdm3


    Kbar,
    I cannot get into Virtual terminal by Ctrl-Alt-F1.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    12,444
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: No terminal there

    Should the command be like the following?


    sudo apt-get install gdm3
    Did you uninstall gdm3 at some point?

    Also does a login screen appear when you try ctrl+alt+F1?
    If so, then you are already running gdm3.

    gdm3 is the default display manager for Ubuntu so unless you removed it or
    reset the display manager it should probably already be running.

    Also what does ctrl+alt+T do?
    That's the shortcut for opening a terminal.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Beans
    131
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: No terminal there

    Quote Originally Posted by peter-1984 View Post
    I cannot get into Virtual terminal by Ctrl-Alt-F1.
    Well, try other function keys. F1 through F6 by default makes /dev/tty1 through /dev/tty6 the foreground terminal. F7 returns you back to the GUI.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Beans
    58

    Re: No terminal there

    Thanks a lot to all. Yes, I can get into Terminal using Ctrl-Alt-F3 but not fine to return to GUI by Ctrl-Alt-F7 and I get the following

    1h.jpg

    how to ensure that I can switch between Terminal and browser within the GUI?
    Last edited by slickymaster; December 3rd, 2021 at 05:48 PM. Reason: removed large image

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •