Thread: Ubuntu boots to GRUB asks for kernel location

Beans

Ubuntu boots to GRUB asks for kernel location

I'm new to Linux, I installed Ubuntu on my SSD and after being told the installation was successful I rebooted. When it boots up it gives me a GRUB line and asks me to ID the kernel location first. Is my computer not giving me a boot menu because I didn't install it on my C drive with windows? Should I reinstall my Ubuntu on my C drive or should I try hunting down my kernel location?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: Ubuntu boots to GRUB asks for kernel location

Lets see details, use ppa version with your USB installer (2nd option) or any working install, not Boot-Repair ISO unless 21.10:
    Please copy & paste the pastebin link to the Boot-info summary report ( do not post report), do not run the auto fix till reviewed.
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair

It seems Boot-Repair does not yet have a ppa download available for 21.10. If that version, use the ISO and create a bootable flash drive.
    The Boot-Repair ISO is based on Lubuntu.
    UEFI boot install & repair info - Regularly Updated :
    https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

Beans

Is this what you're looking for? https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/tH3TjTVF6y/

Beans

Is my computer not giving me a boot menu because I didn't install it on my C drive with windows?
    Sorrry but, you need to go way back to before the very basics as that will absolutely never work. First off you say "Ubuntu" but not which Ubuntu. It matters as Ubuntu has been releasing multiple distributons yearly for well over a decade and we have no idea which you are using unless YOU tell us. Also, you mention windows but not which windows. The first release of windows was in 1985, do you see the problem if you are not specific?