Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Linux OS is purpose built for security?

Beans

What Linux OS is purpose built for security?

Hi I am fairly new to Linux I was wondering if there is a more security focused version of Ubuntu.

Or which Linux OS is purpose built for security / built to be like the fort knox of operating systems.

I only need the OS to do two things 1 - connect to the internet and watch youtube videos 2 - work on word documents

I have looked into Tails although this does not seem very practical because of the ToR browser, and save issues

I am also look at Alpine which seems more promising, as well as Qubes.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

Re: What Linux OS is purpose built for security?

The highest level of security would be achieved, I suspect, via either

- if using a deb based system (ie. year.month release) using only 'main' packages or packages that the Ubuntu Security team were involved with

- using a snap only product (ie. year based release) where everything runs with confinement and few programs have access to your real file-system; which provides better privacy by default.

Yes the other archives (eg. 'universe' or community packages) follow similar procedures to the 'main' archive - but they don't get the security team audit(s).

ie. You don't need a separate product; you can use existing products; and just don't limit yourself to specific packages that meet the requirements you prefer.

Many enterprise users of Ubuntu avoid touching 'universe' or community packages I've noted in support.

Beans