Thread: Need help to install Java 16/17

Beans

Need help to install Java 16/17

I setup Lubuntu on an old pc that was lying around to use as a server. I am very new to linux and ubuntu, so i basically just follow online tutorials to install software.

I need to install java 16 or 17 to run a 1.17 minecraft server, but every attempt I have made to install it has failed.
    I was wondering if lubuntu just doesn't support it / the ppa repository used to install it.

I appreciate any help you can provide

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Need help to install Java 16/17

https://launchpad.net/~openjdk-r/+archive/ubuntu/ppa

I use the openjdk-17-jre-headless for my minecraft server docker container.
    Last edited by Tadaen_Sylvermane; October 19th, 2021 at 01:43 PM.

Beans

Which Java do you want? Oracle Java? OpenJRE?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

You'll need to provide release details.

Lubuntu is a flavor of Ubuntu, so will run any software any other Ubuntu family member will run.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

OpenJDK does not support all the features of Minecraft -- or shall I say the developers of Minecraft don't understand the relationship between OpenJDK and Oracle Java and are too lazy to take the time to learn.

Anyway, Oracle Java is the best for Minecraft, but Oracle will no longer allow anyone to have Oracle Java in their repos or PPAs. Best to install Oracle Java from Oracle's site and set it as the alternative.

And yes, you need to let us know your release, not just the flavor.

Further, it would be best to have the Minecraft on a server, not on a flavor with a DE. Ubuntu Server version is what you want. You don't need or want the overhead of a DE on a server.
    Please read The Forum Rules and The Forum Posting Guidelines

A thing discovered and kept to oneself must be discovered time and again by others. A thing discovered and shared with others need be discovered only the once.